Me, You and Tiramisu by Charlotte Butterfield

Me, You and Tiramisu by Charlotte Butterfield

I’m just loving my chicklit moments from a variety of British-born authors, many are first books or new to me authors, and today’s is no exception.  The debut offering from Charlotte Butterfield brings in family, childhood friends turned lovers, new love and old issues. Please read on for my review of

Me, You and Tiramisu

Jayne and Rachel are twins, bonded together by birth and a rather difficult childhood with an absent father and rather difficult mother.  As soon as it was feasible, the two headed off on their own to London: Jayne to teach and Rachel to work in design. A random meeting with a stranger in the dentist’s office brings Will back into their life: the former Billy was best friend and constant companion to the girls one summer when they were teens.  All grown up Will is amazingly good-looking, just as nice and fun as before, and he and Jayne have that connection that just sparkles – laughing at corny references, enjoying their life, food and the little things.

As a person, Jayne is stuck in the ‘good girl” syndrome: always wanting to believe the best in people, she’s repeatedly disappointed by her mother’s jabs and jibes, and while Rachel, having built a skin of iron to withstand critique, Jayne prefers to ignore and retreat, letting things roll off. With Wil in her life, and her belief in his abilities and talents, she encourages his business expansion, offering cooking classes and posting ‘refreshers’ on the web for his students.  When a video takes off from word of mouth in a Mom’s chatroom – the chase is on – and Will becomes an overnight star.

Oh this was fun and funny! Jayne was so ultimately sensible, if a bit too nice, and while the connection between her and Will is palpable, the pieces she doesn’t share with him, but dumps on her sister and best friend Abi are all rooted in her own damaged sense of self and worthiness.  Stuffing all of that down and away to ‘get along’ and be her version of “good partner” have Jayne at a crisis point, and when the paparazzi, the pressures and even her own overactive imagination come to a fever pitch, and a quiet getaway and equally quiet engagement weekend lead to tabloid headlines, Jayne breaks.  Spectacularly and completely – the only thing missing was fireworks – although flashes gratefully provided by photographer’s cameras.

With moments of drama, some new growth for Jayne as she adjusts (or aligns) her life to fit with Will’s newly adjusted priorities and dreams, plenty of secondary characters that shine brightly and bring issues and depth to the story and some truly wonderful surprises at the end- this book was a wonderful debut: engaging, emotional, and entertaining.

Me, You and Tiramisu by Charlotte Butterfield

Title: Me, You and Tiramisu
Author: Charlotte Butterfield
Published by: Harper Impulse
ISBN: 0008216504
Published on: 23 February 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 247
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

It all started with a table for two…

Life for self-confessed bookworm Jayne Brady couldn’t be better – she has a twin sister she adores, a cosy little flat above a deli and now she’s found love with her childhood crush, gorgeous chef Will.

But when Will becomes a Youtube sensation, thanks to his delicious cookery demos (both the food and his smile!), their life of contentment come crashing down around them. Can Jayne have her Tiramisu and eat it?

Fall in love with the perfect feel-good romance for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Charlotte Butterfield

Former magazine editor Charlotte Butterfield was born in Bristol in 1977. She studied English at Royal Holloway University and an MPhil in Gender and Women’s Studies at Birmingham University before becoming a journalist and copywriter. She moved to Dubai in 2005 and lives with her husband and three children.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge