The Summer of Secrets by Tilly Tennant

The Summer of Secrets by Tilly Tennant

Tilly Tennant returns to the blog today with another lovely romance / chick lit story full of discoveries, secrets and plenty of small-village feeling in

The Summer of Secrets

Harper has been busily regaining her footing and searching for happiness, buoyed by her best friend Pip, and running her dream come true teashop and petting zoo in the orangery on Silver Hill Farm in Dorset. She’s slowly overcoming a horrible relationship where her ex (he who shall not be named) used her as a doormat, and only Pip was there to shore her up, after her girlfriend went to New Zealand for work. But, with success in business, and finally getting the village to accept her plans for holiday cottages at the farm, Harper’s fiancé Shay has started the construction and started breaking ground. All of that comes to a halt, however, when a box is unearthed, a box that contains some very old, and potentially valuable items.

Determined to do things the right way, despite Shay’s intentions and increased pressure for a ‘piece’ of Harper’s business, she contacts an expert for guidance and valuation. The news of the ‘treasure’ has already hit the village thanks to Shay’s drunken revelations, and with Harper feeling as if the treasure really isn’t hers to profit from, and perfectly willing to see it returned to Silver Hill House and the lord thereof, as she is convinced that the money will only lead to changes that will not be positive.

This story is full of heart and side-stories: Shay’s self-absorbed and more than slightly immature attitude as his behavior and Harper’s scrambles to ‘accommodate and mitigate’ his bad behavior, placing herself in a place where her own happiness is in jeopardy. Pip’s constant questioning of Shay – she doesn’t much like him, and doesn’t trust him, yet hasn’t quite wanted to hurt her by stating the obvious. The Lord of Silver Hill House, isolated, prickly as a hedgehog and very much running hot and cold, determined to find a way to get the proceeds from the treasure. Cesca, the expert brought in to authenticate the treasure and in the midst of her own personal crisis, and Kristofer, a Norwegian author with a talent and nose for historical mysteries, undoubted sex appeal and a heart that sees Harper just as she should be. When you add in Allie, a now separated from her husband, 2 night stand with Shay: coming to live with Harper and Pip (on Harper’s invitation) the story moves from one interconnected moment to the next, always circling back to Harper and her determination to see the best in others despite their actions that affect her directly.

I love a book from Tilly Tennant, and this one managed to grab my attention and make me read on – always hoping that Harper would take some of Pip’s attitude and stand up for herself in the little moments that seem (to her) to not be important enough to worry about. What made her seem clueless at first showed her as having a core of steel: never seeming to notice the small upsets until she’s had time to decide for herself just what she needs to do. You’ll have moments of frustration with Harper, but as Pip does, know that she’s far stronger than she ever believed, and will make the decision that is best for her. Grab this story and escape to the Dorset countryside… you won’t regret it.

The Summer of Secrets by Tilly Tennant

Title: The Summer of Secrets
Author: Tilly Tennant
Genre: British, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Historic Elements, Mystery Elements, Setting: Britain
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 9781786813602
Published on: March 14th 2018
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 349
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo IndieBound Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Can new love grow when you dig up old secrets?

Harper Woods wakes up every morning on Silver Hill Farm feeling like the luckiest woman in the world. She’s recently engaged to the tall, dark and handsome Shay, out of her window lie rolling golden cornfields, and just downstairs are the gorgeous tea rooms she’s always dreamed of owning.

But Harper is about to discover a secret that will change her luck forever. For better or worse? She has no idea.

Distracted by her find, Harper doesn’t notice Shay getting rather close to his ex from the village. And as news of Harper’s discovery spreads through Silver Hill, there are people who are keen to stir up trouble, in particular, Will Frampton, handsome recluse and Lord of Silver Hill House, the crumbling stately home the other side of the hill.

Can Harper trust any man in Silver Hill? And as relationships are tested and tea cakes begin to fly, will anyone catch the romance blossoming in the most unexpected of places?

An utterly gorgeous, heart-warming romance, full of love and laughter. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Tilly Tennant

Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing, graduating in 2009 with first class honours. She wrote her first novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books before the rest of the world gets them.

 

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

4 responses to “The Summer of Secrets by Tilly Tennant

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.