The Reckless Engineer: The Reckless Engineer #1 by Jac Wright

The second I have read by this author, his short The Closet was a clever and unique read and I appreciated the author’s style and voice that was developed in his character.   In Reckless Engineer, the author uses similar characterization tools to bring the main characters of Jack and Jeremy to light.  Unfortunately, I found it difficult to like Jack: married to one woman, cheating on her with another who is found pregnant and dead, and now leaning: not so gently on a friend who he supported during a rough patch, Jack feels manipulative and duplicitous.  A perfect set up for the whodunit that follows, as Jeremy is scouring England and Scotland looking for information that will exonerate his friend.

Funny that Jeremy, for all of his intelligence, feels manipulated through a large part of the story, his belief in Jack seemed to be less based in reality than in loyalty and debt owed.  Fortunately, as the tale unfolds, Jeremy starts to unravel the several tangled threads as he tries to discover just who killed Jack’s longtime mistress and unborn child.

Twists and turns abound, with several dead ends thrown in for good measure, not to mention the likelihood of some disgruntled encounter in Jack’s past or present coming to remove the source of conflict and difficulty from everyone’s lives by having him jailed, the final ‘aha’ moment was a complete surprise to me, and I am sure it will be to many readers.

A nice mix that blends a life gone pear-shaped, a mystery and one man’s search to find the truth for his ‘friend’ as he negotiates a long list of ‘what not to do’ based on Jack’s choices, this was a fun read that holds great descriptions and scenes, moments that come alive with the author’s facility with words and unusual combinations of twists that make this an engaging and thought provoking read.

The Reckless Engineer: The Reckless Engineer #1 by Jac Wright

Title: The Reckless Engineer
Author: Jac Wright
Genre: Contemporary Mystery, Suspense
Published by: Soul Mate Publishing
Source: Author
Pages: 400
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon
See this Title on Goodreads

Love is a battlefield. 
The aftershocks of an affair reverberate out to those in the lives of the lovers, who will NOT take it lying down.

Jack Connor's lives an idyllic life by the Portsmouth seaside married to Caitlin McAllen, a stunning billionaire heiress, and working at his two jobs as the Head of Radar Engineering of Marine Electronics and as the Director of Engineering of McAllen BlackGold, his powerful father-in-law Douglas McAllen's extreme engineering company in Oil & Gas. He loves his two sons from his first marriage and is amicably divorced from his beautiful first wife Marianne Connor. Their delicately balanced lives are shattered when sexy Michelle Williams, with whom Jack is having a secret affair and who is pregnant with his child, is found dead and Jack is arrested on suspicion for the murder.

Jeremy Stone brings London's top defence attorney, John Stavers, to handle his best friend's defence.

Who is the bald man with the tattoo of a skull seen entering the victim's house? Who is "KC" who Caitlin makes secret calls to from a untraceable mobile? Has powerful Douglas McAllen already killed his daughter's first partner and is he capable of killing again? Is Caitlin's brother Ronnie McAllen's power struggle with Jack for the control of McAllen Industries so intense that he is prepared to kill and frame his brother-in-law? Is the divorce from Jack's first wife as amicable on her part as they believe it to be? Are his sons prepared to kill for their vast inheritance? Who are the ghosts from Caitlin's past in Aberdeen, Scotland haunting the marriage? What is the involvement of Jack's manager at Marine Electronics?

The cast of characters is made even more colorful by the supporting entourage: the big Scott and his gang, Hosé and Heineken, who carry out Douglas McAllen’s “troubleshooting;” McAllens' bumbling solicitors McKinley and Magnus Laird; Caitlin McAllen’s handymen, Cossack and Levent; and Jeremy’s sidekick, the gay black actor working in the London West End.

While Jack is charged and his murder trial proceeds in the Crown Court under barrister John Stavers’ expert care, Jeremy runs a race against time to find the real killer and save his friend's life, if he is in fact innocent, in a tense saga of love, desire, power, and ambition.

A copy of this title was provided via Author for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Jac Wright

Jac Wright is a published poet, a published author, and an electronics engineer educated at Stanford, University College London, and Cambridge who lives and works in England. Jac studied English literature from an early age of three, developing an intense love for poetry, drama, and writing in Speech & Drama classes taken every Saturday for fourteen years, and in subsequent creative writing classes taken during the university years. A published poet, Jac's first passion was for literary fiction and poetry writing as well as for the dramatic arts. You will find these influences in the poetic imagery and prose, as well as the in the dramatic scene setting and deep character creation.

These passions - for poetry, drama, literary fiction, and electronic engineering - have been combined to create the first book in the literary suspense series, The Reckless Engineer. There are millions of professionals in high tech corporate environments who work in thousands of cities in the US, the UK, and the world such as engineers, technicians, technical managers, investment bankers, and corporate lawyers. High drama, power struggles, and human interest stories play out in the arena every day. Yet there are hardly any books that tell their stories; there are not many books that they can identify with. Jac feels compelled to tell their stories in The Reckless Engineer series.

Jac also writes the literary short fiction series, Summerset Tales, in which Wright explores characters struggling against their passions and social circumstances in the semi-fictional region of contemporary England called Summerset, partly the region that Thomas Hardy called Wessex. Some of the tales have an added element of suspense similar to Rald Dahl's Tales of the Unexpected. The collection is published as individual tales in the tradition of Geoffrey Chaucer's Caterbury Tales, Charles Dickens' The Pickwick Papers and Thomas Hardy's Wessex Tales. The first tale, The Closet, accompanies the first title in the author's full-length series, The Reckless Engineer.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.