The Little Wedding Island by Jaimie Admans

The Little Wedding Island by Jaimie Admans

Jaimie Admans returns to the blog today with a lovely story about two total opposites and their battle to save their competing magazines. Please read on for my review of

The Little Wedding Island

Off the coast of England, near the Isle of Man sits little Edelweiss Island, named after the flower known to many from the song in The Sound of Music. Wildflowers, hardy and reasonably rare, these high-altitude, chocolatey-scented white feathery flowers grow in some reasonably obscure and hard to reach places. But, the mysteries of Edelweiss island are far deeper than the carpet of flowers – known as the Little Wedding Island, and famed for its no-divorce history, no web presence, no advertising and a cliquish group of residents famed for their ability to frustrate reporters there to uncover the island’s secrets. So, of course it would be the setting for a story to save two competing magazines: a wedding themed publication and a publication aimed at men, with a star columnist that is vehemently anti-wedding.

Bonnie is everything wedding: a hopeless romantic who believes that love overcomes all works for a small magazine dedicated to weddings. She’s got her ‘perfect’ dress on a payment plan, uses that as her profile photo, can’t help but fall in line with the romance and hope in a wedding day, and is embroiled in a flame war with the columnist RC Art, after a column mocking a May-December wedding got her so frustrated she lost her mind in a series of responses hoping to show him the error of his ways. Of course, arguments on the internet do no good, and Bonnie discovers she’s being sent on assignment to Edelweiss Island to get a scoop and save the failing publication. What she doesn’t know is that similar punishment is being doled out at the competing magazine.

Meeting on the ferry, a very seasick Rohan Carter is desperately hoping to survive the crossing, but still generous enough to notice Bonnie’s shivering and lack of coat. Of course, she’s interested in his lovely eyes and looks, but her kindness speaks louder, and she takes charge of Ro, seeing him through the journey and off the boat. Of course – Bonnie isn’t thinking that this man could possibly be her arch nemesis despite his snaky, although funny, commentary on the island, the people and the myths. Soon enough, his nom de plume and purpose are revealed, and the two find that while the people are pleasant enough, at first, there isn’t a way to get to the story unless they pretend a couplehood, soon morphing into a pretend engagement, and use the wedding-besotted residents joy in making their ‘day’ perfect to get to the truth.

Such fun – from Bonnie’s utter belief in love and the magic of the island to Ro’s obvious issues and lack of belief in love. Oh – he’s gloriously wonderful and caring, as long as it doesn’t require his own belief in what everyone else sees. And, who can resist little Puffin, the vicar’s black pug who thinks Ro is a treat and treasure combined, but Ro’s own ability to see himself as others do is barricaded behind walls of hurt. Bonnie, for her part, is finally experiencing love: although she’s rapidly brought up short by Ro’s constant reminders of the limits to their ‘relationship’ and the story yet to come This is a special read: wonderful for the characters on the island, their determination and belief in Bonnie and Ro as a couple, and their one-themed island that seems to have some sort of magical powers derived from the setting, the people and something undefinable in the history of the island’s success rate. From the first page to the last, the story grabs your heart and has you ready to book an island getaway – whether or not a wedding is in your future.

The Little Wedding Island by Jaimie Admans

Title: The Little Wedding Island
Author: Jaimie Admans
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Setting: Britain
Published by: HQ Digital
ISBN: 9780008271572
Published on: 2 March, 2018
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 384
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

‘Will you… pretend to marry me?’

Bonnie Haskett loves everything about weddings. She loves her job at a national bridal magazine and even has a deposit down on her dream dress. The only problem? She doesn’t have a fiancé!

So when Bonnie is sent to Edelweiss Island, known as ‘The Little Wedding Island’, it’s a dream come true. She’s heard the rumours, every wedding that takes place in the tiny chapel ends in a happy-ever-after.

But there’s a catch! Investigating the story, Bonnie needs to pose as a blushing bride – and the only man up for posing as her groom is her arch rival (and far too handsome for his own good) journalist Rohan Carter…

A gorgeously uplifting summer romance. Perfect for fans of Holly Martin and Caroline Roberts.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Jaimie Admans

Jaimie Admans is and English-sounding Welsh girl with an awkward-to-spell name. She lives in South Wales and enjoys writing, gardening, watching horror movies, and drinking tea, although she’s seriously considering marrying her coffee machine. She loves autumn and winter, and singing songs from musicals despite the fact she’s got the voice of a dying hyena. She hates spiders, hot weather, and cheese & onion crisps. She spends far too much time on Twitter and owns too many pairs of boots.
She will never have time to read all the books she wants to read.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

2 responses to “The Little Wedding Island by Jaimie Admans

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge