The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings by Donna Ashcroft

The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings by Donna Ashcroft

Donnna Ashcroft comes to the blog today with a story about finding home and possibilities in

The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings

Madison has been a nomad for most of her life, the child of diplomats she never actually found a place that felt like home until coming to live with her aunt and uncle on Sunflower Island after her parents’ death when she was a teen. Her parents always left her feeling as if she was a burden, and she’s never quite recovered from that -leaving the island at 18 and travelling the world, never setting down roots. Now, at 23, she’s feeling the desire for something new yet familiar, and has come back to the island that feels like home, hoping to make a life in the little B & B that her aunt and uncle own.

Connor has lived his entire life on Sunflower Island, and now runs the family building firm after his father’s death. Always a ‘himself to himself’ sort of person, his father’s hermit-like behavior, combined with the fact that he wasn’t a particularly ‘nice’ person leave Connor with a mass of issues – most of which he ignores while working too hard, avoiding others and trying to control the world around him. He’s not without purpose, after discovering a half-sister he’s felt not so alone, and is hoping that when she finishes her degree, she’ll come back to work with him on the island. He’s working at The Sunshine Hideaway, Maddy’s Aunt & Uncle’s place, refitting the old café space and doing a general ‘spruce up’, as the B & B is slated to go up for sale – low occupancy due to a rival facility on the other end of the island and the need for Madison’s aunt to step back and slow down after a heart attack in the fall. Yet, both Connor and Dee have promised NOT to share the impending sale or news of her aunt’s health issues.

A story that feels so very fresh and unique, but actually truly isn’t. Everyone here from Maddie to Connor, her friend Amy and Connor’s sister Georgina are all trying to find their way through it all, deciding what they want, who they want to be, and just where to do it all. Madison is relentlessly positive: she’s friendly and outgoing and people flock to her like moths to a flame. She’s got the reputation of always being on the way to somewhere else- and is fighting against that ‘reputation’ as well as determined to make ‘friends’ with Connor and help out the inn, trying to gain more business. Connor is intrigued by Madison, but he’s so caught in his own circle of ‘work and be in control’ that he’s never looked for more. It will take the entire village, and it does, to get the grand opening for the café sorted, bring in new customers and in doing so, build her own toehold in the place Madison wants to call home. And, with lots of friends, plenty of growth, and some clever moments and firsts for both Madison and Connor, the story rockets forward to the big climax, and one that will open doors for possibilities neither expected nor saw. Sweet, clever, funny and oh so full of heart – Ashcroft has hit on another winner where people find home, acceptance and purpose in a place that every reader will want to experience.

The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings by Donna Ashcroft

Title: The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings
Author: Donna Ashcroft
Genre: British, Contemporary Romance, Friendship, Humor elements, Second Chance, Setting: Britain, Small Town
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 9781786817570
Published on: 26 March, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 254
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

The Sunshine Hideaway, with its big bay windows and stunning view of Sunflower Island’s golden beaches, is the only place Madison Skylar has ever truly thought of as home. Could returning to the island be the second chance she needs?

When twenty-three-year-old Madison arrives at The Sunshine Hideaway, she discovers the beautiful little guesthouse is falling into disrepair. With the help of old friends Amy and Connor, Madison throws herself into creating a gorgeous wellness retreat, introducing yoga sessions, adventure walks and ice-cream sundaes with a delicious twist. But will it be enough to save her childhood home?

Handsome and mysterious Connor has lived on Sunflower Island his whole life. He works hard as a builder, with his faithful dog Jaws by his side, but something is missing and he dreams of bigger things. As Connor helps to revamp The Sunshine Hideaway, this could be his opportunity to tell the woman he’s secretly been in love with for years how he really feels…

As spontaneous and fun-loving Madison settles into life on the close-knit island, sparks fly between her and shy Connor as they clash on the reinvention of the guesthouse. Are the they too different to make things work or will Madison and Connor finally find true love this year?

An utterly perfect, feel-good romance about the power of friendship, the meaning of home and the joy of falling in love in the sunshine. Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Debbie Macomber.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Donna Ashcroft

Donna Ashcroft spent a couple of decades writing bad horror stories and worse poetry until she gave up and accidentally fell into publishing. After many years of working on other people’s books, she began to write her own romantic comedies and hasn’t looked back.

When Donna isn’t lost in her latest love affair, she works for a website where she indulges her other passion – buying moisturiser.

Donna lives in Hertfordshire with her own romantic hero, two gorgeous teenagers and a couple of cantankerous cats.

 

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

2 responses to “The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings by Donna Ashcroft

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.