Navigate / search

Cupcakes and Confetti: The Little Wedding Shop by the Sea #1 by Jane Linfoot

Cupcakes and Confetti: The Little Wedding Shop by the Sea #1 by Jane Linfoot

A little secret, not well-kept… I adore my Brit Chick Lit – those wonderful fiction stories with a touch of romance, set in Britain, written by authors from the UK, with the humor, approach to life and heroines that are so palpable.  One of the authors who brought me back to these stories was Jane Linfoot: her quirky and likable heroines are just those girls you want to be friends with- and they always manage to get themselves into some incredible (and often embarrassing) scrapes.  The first in her new series, The Little Wedding Shop by the Sea, please read on for my review of, and an excerpt from…

Cupcakes and Confetti

Follow Poppy (the blue one – not the red) over the next year as she reinvents herself with two new careers, a new life and possibly a new love.  After a break up with long-term live in, Poppy has moved back to familiar territory with her two childhood best friends as she recovers from the slight and decides if she’ll go back to her fast-paced London life as a food stylist.  In the meantime, she’s living and working in the attic level of a new bridal shop in the small Cornwall town. See, Poppy has always baked cakes: the BEST cakes, made with patience and love, a legacy from her mother. Sure, money is tight, but she’s able to support herself (mostly) and has Immie and Cate nearby for emotional support. Life is full: she’s got her cakes, helping out in the shop Brides by the Sea, babysitting for Cate and her fiancé and visiting Immie out in the country as she manages a holiday cottage for hire business at Daisy Hill Farm. What more could a girl need?

Not that she needed it, but the wedding planner at Daisy Hill Farm has quit, and Rafe, the owner, is debating closing it all down. But Cate, Poppy’s bestie was the first to book her wedding there.  There is no question that Poppy can and should step up to take on the job – at least in Immie and Cate’s eyes.  From here, it’s a mix of crossed wires, moments of pure happiness and a back and forth between Poppy and Rafe that highlights just how different, but compatible the two are.

Poppy is lovely: she’s had her legs knocked out from under her, but she’s still steaming forward with her “make everyone else happy” face.  She’s actually a bit lost, no worries about her baking – that she knows she has down in spades, but the rest of her life (and one unused, unworn designed for her wedding gown) is hiding in a closet awaiting discovery or use.  Now is the time to expand her wings and start to fly. It’s not a smooth ride for sure: sharing an office with Rafe is akin to sharing with a sloppy bear with a thorn in his paw, not to mention Henrietta and the cows.  Poppy is NOT a ‘farm’ girl – she’s small town who longed for the city, but it’s mud, stone walls, cakes and bridezillas, and one self-important photographer.  Poppy is learning and growing – speaking her own mind and ready for the next phase of her life.  As satisfying as warn gingerbread with a lemon drizzle (try it – I promise it’s the best thing you’ve ever had except good chocolate) this slow-growing story just nestles into your heart and leaves you satisfied.  Another winner from Linfoot – stories that grab your heart and don’t let go.

Cupcakes and Confetti: The Little Wedding Shop by the Sea #1 by Jane Linfoot

Title: Cupcakes and Confetti
Author: Jane Linfoot
Series: The Little Wedding Shop by the Sea #1
Also in this series: Sequins and Snowflakes
Genre: Contemporary Woman's Fiction
Published by: Harper, Impulse
ISBN: 0008197094
Published on: 28 April, 2016
Format:eBook
Source: Author
Pages: 339
Rated: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Heat: One FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Book Depository Google

Goodreads


About the Book:

The perfect romance to take on your summer hols! For fans of Milly Johnson, Jenny Oliver and Lucy Diamond.

Brides by the Sea, the cutest little wedding shop in all of Cornwall, has it all, including cake baker Poppy who lives upstairs. But wedding planning is not the piece of cake Poppy thought it would be, and when her best friend Cate’s wedding planner walks out, Poppy has to tie up the loose ends so her bestie can tie the knot.

Double-booked venues, ‘rustic’ locations and gorgeous but grumpy farmer Rafe have this wedding pro feeling like she could be Cate’s ‘something blue.’

Will the wedding, the shop and the cake all come crashing down on her? Or will Poppy pull it off to give Cate – and herself – the happy ever afters they deserve?

A copy of this title was provided via Author for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

HEADER - Excerpt IAI

 

As a guy in a soft grey parka walks in, muffled against the cold with a bright stripey scarf, our mouths open in a silent, but collective, ‘wow’.

There aren’t that many guys around here who look like they’ve escaped from some high fashion magazine, complete with the expensive clothes.

‘Hi.’ He shakes his perfectly cut, artfully messy, nut brown hair, and holds out his hand. ‘I’m Jules, I’m here for the photo shoot.’ His gaze is a startling topaz blue. ‘I take it that’s okay?’ As his coat slips open to reveal a chunky knit that might have walked off the pages of Telegraph Living, there’s a delicious waft of expensive aftershave.

He has to keep on talking, because Immie and I are still gawping. We’re halfway between being lost for words, and convulsing in giggles.

No surprise that Immie recovers first. ‘Fine, come on in.’ Immie leaps forward and grabs his hand which looks clean and buffed. ‘I’m not sure you’re at the right place though,’ she adds doubtfully. ‘Definitely haven’t seen any cameras or lights anywhere round here this morning.’

That makes him smile, and when he smiles his cheeks crack into deep lines. You know those long ironic dimples you get on guys like Johnny Depp? The ones that make your legs dissolve? That’s what I’m talking here. And from the way Immie has sprawled against the desk, I’m guessing in her case, dissolving is fully complete.

Then he gives a long low laugh that bounces off the whitewashed office walls and leaves me helpless too.

‘No, I’m bringing the cameras, I’m the photographer.’ The smile he flashes is luminous enough to suggest he’s on great terms with his dental hygienist.

‘Remind me what you’re taking pictures of?’ Immie’s doing well here, given her legs are all floppy, and she hasn’t got a clue what he’s talking about.

‘The engagement shoot for Lara and Ben’s wedding…we booked to have it here this afternoon…?’

I struggle to make my expression less blank as he goes on.

‘I say engagement shoot, it’s really just to get the happy couple relaxed in front of the camera before the big day.Let’s hope the weather’s improved for the real thing at Easter…it’s only four weeks away now.’

And finally the penny drops. He’s a wedding photographer. And the couple he’s talking about are the bride and groom I’ve been trying to get hold of all weekend. If ever I wanted a fairy godmother moment, this is it. Not only has a hunk of a guy been delivered to my office – not lusting, just admiring here, you understand – but my most dreaded task of the morning just melted away.

‘Of course, I’m so sorry,’ I begin. ‘It’s absolutely fine for you to be here now.’ I can tell Immie thinks I’m gushing, but I’m so damned relieved. ‘I’m Poppy Pickering, Events Manager, tell me what you’d like me to do, and I’m all yours.’

I grab Jules’ hand and give it a vigorous shake, ignoring Immie, smirking behind her fingers.

‘I’m in my 4×4.’ Jules voice is half purr, half growl. ‘If you could possibly spare the time to show me a few locations…? With the weather as it is, we’ll be working to big up the rugged side. I’m on the lookout for five bar gates, craggy trees, backdrops of sky, stuff like that.’

‘No problem.’ Immie is straight in there. ‘I know this farm like the back of my…’

Whatever happened to those pressing weekend check outs she was off to? Not to mention her disdain for men in general. I jump in before she has me sidelined completely. ‘It’s fine, I know you’re busy Immie, I’ll handle Jules.’ I’ve been to so many weddings, and poured longingly over the pictures afterwards, wishing it were me, that I know exactly what he’s wanting. And this is my first real taste of my new job. ‘Promise I’ll shout if I need you Immie.’ I sweep across the office to grab my jacket. ‘Shall we go?’ I’m suddenly tingling with excitement at the thought. And it’s nothing to do with any hot guy hormone rush, it’s all about getting Daisy Hill Farm Weddings up and running.

 

Sample other titles by Jane Lightfoot

___
 

About Jane Linfoot

I write fun, flirty fiction, with feisty heroines and a bit of an edge. Writing romance is cool, because I get to wear pretty shoes instead of gumboots. I live in a mountain kingdom in Derbyshire, England, where my family and pets are kind enough to ignore the domestic chaos – happily, we’re in walking distance of a supermarket. I love hearts, flowers, happy endings, all things vintage, most things french. When I’m not on facebook, and can’t find an excuse for shopping, I’ll be walking, or gardening. On days when I want to be really scared, I ride a tandem.