The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa

The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa

Mia Sosa comes to the blog with a rom com that is SO much more with

The Worst Best Man

Lina is first-generation Brazilian, not particularly fluent in Portuguese, determined, dedicated and utterly adorable! With a family of aunts and cousins who are involved in every step she takes, and everyone has some sort of ‘specialty” they are protective, hard working and the love of family (and those they accept into the circle) shines through. Actually, while I was reading this I was missing the people that I used to work with from Brazil and Portugal – from their good-natured overbearing mothering to the food – the chance to see things from the ‘other side’ was welcome. But, as busy as she is, Lina’s struggling to make ends meet in the competitive and expensive DC market. A wedding planner who in one wedding managed to ‘create’ eyebrows for a groom, praise a bride’s choice of a green dress that had her looking more like a celery stalk and a chat with a guest who handed over a card and asked to meet – things just may be ready to change.

The chance of her lifetime comes with several hiccups – most of which Lina handles with a calm exterior and some rather brash decisions as she stuffs down her shock at coming face to face with the man who left her at the altar AND his brother who Ias the story goes) was the one to ‘reaffirm his choice”. When you add that shock into the ‘competition between Lina and her ex’s brother Max against another wedding planner and her ex Andrew, the story is cleverly set to be an enemies to friends and possibly lovers story. Once you get past all of the obstacles: emotional, familial and the ever-present potential of their ‘connections’ being unveiled.

But aside from giving BOTH Max and Lina some real issues to work out: from sibling rivalry to low self-esteem, Sosa also manages to dip into the secret reasons behind Lina’s often ‘ice princess’ demeanor, and shared the difficulties of being a woman with emotional reactions, further complicated by being a woman of color AND the pressure that she feels to not let her mother and aunts down – as they had all worked very hard with next to nothing to provide their children with opportunities and options. Honestly? Most of this book was like sitting in the room as everything happened around you – with captions for the interior dialog. From heartfelt sharing of confidences, issues and challenges to steam up the room – the story felt organic, real and like a very loud group of friends had invited you in – and let you celebrate, struggle and love with them all. If you’ve not tried a book from Mia Sosa – Start with this…. Then I can recommend her Love On Cue series as you wait for her next book. You won’t regret it – this is a favorite read from easily the last 18 months or so!

The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa

Title: The Worst Best Man
Author: Mia Sosa
Genre: Contemporary Romantic Comedy, Family Saga, Friendship, Humor elements, Interracial, Multi-Cultural, Romantic Elements, Second Chance
Published by: Avon
ISBN: 0062909886
Published on: 4 February, 2020
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher Via Edelweiss
Pages: 368
Audio Length: 10 Hours: 1 minute
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour IndieBound GoogleAudibleDirect from Publisher
See this Title on Goodreads

Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy #ownvoices enemies-to-lovers novel, perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne!

A wedding planner left at the altar? Yeah, the irony isn't lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina's offered an opportunity that could change her life. There's just one hitch… she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.

Marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he'll be working with his brother's whip-smart, stunning—absolutely off-limits—ex-fiancée. And she loathes him.

If they can nail their presentation without killing each other, they'll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina's ready to dish out a little payback of her own.

Soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn't interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again...

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher Via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Mia Sosa

Mia Sosa is an award-winning contemporary romance writer and 2015 Romance Writers of America® Golden Heart® Finalist. Her books have received praise and recognition from Library Journal, The Washington Post, Book Riot, Bustle, The Booklist Reader, and more.

A former First Amendment and media lawyer, Mia practiced for more than a decade before trading her suits for loungewear (okay, okay, they’re sweatpants). Now she strives to write fun and flirty stories about imperfect characters finding their perfect match.

Mia lives in Maryland with her husband, their two daughters, and an adorable puppy that finally sleeps through the night.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.