The Women of Mulberry Lane :Mulberry Lane #5 by Rosie Clarke

The Women of Mulberry Lane :Mulberry Lane #5 by Rosie Clarke

Rosie Clarke comes to the blog with the fifth (and I believe, final) installment in the Mulberry Lane series with

The Women of Mulberry Lane

Throughout this journey during the war years along the little London Lane, we’ve met many of the women on the ‘hone front’ and watched them grieve, laugh, love and support one another through the tough times during World War II. It’s been a journey full of beginnings and endings, loves found and lost, and friendships tested and strengthened. And while some have left of their own accord, everyone seems to come back to the lane with fond memories, a sense of belonging, and plenty of hope for better after the war. Peggy is still running the Pig & Whistle while her errant husband Laurie is off in hospital with what is described at tuberculosis. Now decided that her marriage is truly over, she’s wanting a divorce, as she plans for the next step for her and her little twins. She’s still hopeful that Able will come back to her and the children, but with her daughter finally moving on from the death of her husband and she and her daughter planning to move to the country with her new man, things are going to be changing again.

And here is where Clarke excels: we have the story of Tom – son of the lane and well thought of by all. His crush on Rose is unrequited, if unchanged, and she’s determined that soon she and Jimmy will marry, We have Maureen and her husband, their struggle with his injuries and starting to make his own way in supporting the family. The loss of her grandmother, her daughter’s growing up with ambitions to be a doctor, the friendships, struggles and above all, support through good and bad that makes this series a winner. If you are a fan of heartfelt stories that make you admire, cheer for and weep with the characters – this is the series for you. Fans of Home Fires and Land Girls on PBS will enjoy these books, as they take the lives of wartime women, doing everything to keep their families happy and healthy against great odds and give us that slice of life that is so common to us all. A lovely series with a wonderful ending full of dancing and revelry in the streets before everyone finds a new path in the newly optimistic time.

The Women of Mulberry Lane :Mulberry Lane #5 by Rosie Clarke

Title: The Women of Mulberry Lane
Author: Rosie Clarke
Series: The Mulberry Lane #5
Also in this series: The Girls of Mulberry Lane, New Arrivals at Mulberry Lane:
Genre: British, Family Saga, Friendship, Historic Elements, Historic Woman's Fiction, Humor elements, Romantic Elements, Setting: Britain, World War II
Published by: Aria
ISBN: 1789542235
Published on: 1 August, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 336
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Love and heartbreak, birth and death, joy amid hardship, are all here in the gripping fifth novel about the people of Mulberry Lane during World War Two.
The war is nearly over – or is it?

The women of Mulberry Lane anxiously wait for news. Peggy doesn't know if she'll ever again see Able, the American father of her twins, while a very odd letter from estranged husband, Laurie, threatens to set the cat among the pigeons. Rose can't stop loving Jimmy, while Tom can't stop loving her. Will Gordon ever again be the man he once was? Can he be a proper husband to Maureen, and if he can't, what will become of their marriage? The men, women and children of Mulberry Lane fight on with indomitable spirit, as the endgame of the Second World War enters its most deadly phase.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Rosie Clarke

Rosie Clarke was born in Swindon, but moved to Ely in Cambridgeshire at the age of nine. She started writing in 1976, combining this with helping her husband run his antiques shop. In 2004, Rosie was the well-deserved winner of the RNA Romance Award and the Betty Neels Trophy. Rosie also writes as Anne Herries and Cathy Sharp. Find out more at her website:

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.