Where There’s a Will by Beth Corby

Where There’s a Will by Beth Corby

Beth Corby brings her debut offering to the blog today – a lovely story of taking chances and discovering your joy in

Where There’s a Will

Opening with a disastrous interview for a teaching position, Hannah is tired of the ‘what next’ attitude from her family, the increasing debt of her seemingly endless forays into university and the studying. Always having felt like the ‘afterthought’, particularly where her not very nice and always in the spotlight sister is concerned, she just wanted to have a bit of time to herself, with the interview behind her, to regroup. But, in an unwise moment she shared with her sister, and thus her failure (or unsuitability – as she really had no interest in actually teaching, but more seeking a job to start paying off debt) to make a start on ‘adulting’. All of this is coming on the heels of a family gathering at the house of one Uncle Donald – their grandmother Betty’s brother, black sheep of the family, and a total mystery. The entire family has been requested to attend, and the conversations, expectations and moods are high.

Donald lives in a grand-ish house named the Laurels, and for the most part, Hannah’s relatives are behaving exactly as she expected: assessing the space, man and their prospects with manners both cloying and false. But after the singular meeting, a few short asides from Hannah to Donald, and they are off back to their lives, until news of Donald’s death reaches them. From the reading of the will to threats of contest, angry words and plenty of self-serving planning, only Hannah was asked to hang back, for she was bequeathed something very different. A series of tasks to be completed one after the other to receive her inheritance. Hannah agrees and we are off……

This was the second or third title with a similar “beyond the grave’ aspect that sought to direct actions or provide enlightenment through a combination of physical acts and letters of explanation, all with the purpose of obtaining the bequest. What sets Hannah’s story apart is her reactions to, and interactions with the three people who are keys to the whole thing. Alex, Donald’s PA is there to monitor her progress and assist her, Donald, the deceased who feels so present and palpable through his letters and the one who threatens to bring everything down – Mrs. Jennings. Throughout the tasks, some that push Hannah to her limits and test her already shaky self-confidence, she’s gaining insight, learning to rely on her own instincts and enjoying the ride – even when she’s wondering just how worth it this might be. But never in a mercenary way: she’s only curious about furthering the feelings and intrigue that Donald engendered on their one meeting, and getting to know the man better. This is a fun escape story with plenty of moments to make you think and smile.

Where There’s a Will by Beth Corby

Title: Where There's a Will
Author: Beth Corby
Genre: British, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Humor elements, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Setting: Britain
Published by: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781473699502
Published on: 30 May, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 356
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Would you take the chance that could change everything?

After leaving university at the age of twenty-five with no idea what to do with her life, Hannah is stunned when she is left a mystery bequest by her rich, estranged great-uncle Donald.

But there's a catch: before she can find out what she's inherited, she must undertake a series of unknown tasks alongside Alec, Donald's reluctant (but rather gorgeous) PA.

As the tasks progress and she and Alec grow closer, Hannah begins to think that Donald's real gift might have more to do with love than money . . .

This funny, romantic and uplifting novel is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Cathy Hopkins and Anna Bell.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.