The Wedding Planner: Whispers Wood #3 by Eve Devon

The Wedding Planner: Whispers Wood #3 by Eve Devon

Eve Devon is here today with the third book in the Whispers Wood series, a small northeast Suffolk village and full of all of the quirk and charm you’d expect in

The Wedding Planner

Not having read the first two in this series, Devon has thoughtfully provided a synopsis of the main characters we encounter – and one that will prove to be handy as the story is told from multiple perspectives all giving input into the events as they progress. Most fortunately for me, Gloria is the highlight of this story, the one who achieves the most and has some of the best-ever gaffes and slips of the tongue on the way to remaking herself as a ‘nicer person’. Always on the defense, and utterly obsessed with her own personal insecurities, Gloria has spent the last while trying to make herself into the person people flock to, ok – not really – she’d be happy with them not scattering away from her when she approached. With her own marriage dissolving in spectacular fashion, she’s convinced that being the focus of the gossip mill in town is nothing difficult, when compared to her own ‘tell it like it is, no holds barred’ honest eruptions from her mouth. And while she’s still saying things that are often true, but usually wholly inappropriate, she’s started to soften her all too prickly edges and actually finding herself wanting friendships. What Gloria does bring to the table, if not her ability to keep her mouth shut and be appropriate in all situations is her honest desire to ‘be’ friends and better – both for herself and as an example to her ten year old daughter.

But when Emma and Jake decide that Gloria and Seth (Jake’s brother) are the two to plan their wedding (Jane Austen theme in mind, thank you) these two divorced, cynical and adorable people, who few expect much from, dig into the task and get it done. Along with the wedding, Seth is also trying to find a way for his brother to increase income on their family estate, and he can’t help finding amusement and intrigue in the time he’s spending with Gloria. With a wedding date set, unsurprisingly by Gloria as a means of deflecting interest and questions at a town meeting, there’s just ten weeks to go and everything to arrange. From a day at a wedding fair at the site of Gloria’s failed marriage, to a drunken girl’s night out where she shares too much (think anything) with her new friends, to being involved in several conversations with Gertrude the cow – who’d prefer to hang out with people and be in the know – the story alternates from Gloria’s struggles with making changes and coming to trust in herself and those around her to actual moments with other townspeople, some lovely scenes with her parenting, the laugh out loud moments are frequent and real.

Devon has created a lovely and quirky little village here in Whispers Wood, with townsfolk who are all ‘involved’: from knowing everything, to dispensing advice, to actually caring for their neighbors and friends. With town meetings that are adorably pedantic and thorough through the wedding where everyone in town is invited, and all of the conversations and discussions about each person – you can’t help but feel the community in every moment, even as it feels overwhelming there is a sense of comfort and camaraderie here. As I stated, I hadn’t read the first two books, but with this one being such a breath of fresh air I can’t wait to dive into them all. And you can’t help but love a series that brings the possibility and potential to such heights, and gives everyone a chance, or a second chance, at a happy ending. No matter how cynical they may claim to be.

 

The Wedding Planner: Whispers Wood #3 by Eve Devon

Title: The Wedding Planner
Author: Eve Devon
Genre: British, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Friendship, Humor elements, Second Chance, Setting: Britain
ISBN: https://amzn.to/2K2d1b9
Published on: 3 May 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 400
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

A charming feel good romance perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Sarah Morgan
Wedding bells are ringing and gossip is spiralling in Whispers Wood…

Single mum Gloria Pavey has a bad habit of saying exactly the wrong thing at the wrong time. Determined to make a positive change she can’t say no when her best friend, Emma, asks her to take on the role of her wedding planner. The only problem? Gloria’s co-planner – best man Seth Knightley.

Gloria is on a self-imposed man ban but pulling together the most beautiful wedding Whispers Wood has ever seen alongside gorgeous Seth is pushing her to her limits. As every interaction increases the tension between them Gloria finds herself wondering…could the happy ever after she never thought she’d have be in her future after all?

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.