The Wedding that Changed Everything by Jennifer Joyce

The Wedding that Changed Everything by Jennifer Joyce

Jennifer Joyce returns to the blog today with another lovely read that filled my need for escape and happy endings at just the right time. Please read on for my review of

The Wedding that Changed Everything

Emily met Alice in Uni, and they’ve been friends ever since, despite their very different views on Happy Ever After. And now, with Alice all loved up: she’s decided that Emily needs to find the romance in her own life. With a wedding at the old ‘family castle’ coming for Alice’s sister, involving a week of “wedding activities’ and avoiding her stepmother in her own complicated family, Alice has decided that Emily will be her ‘plus one’ and she’ll (Alice) make sure that Emily meets several available potential Prince Charmings.

But, what Emily only shares with a few people is the reason she’s not believed in fairy tales or happy ever afters since she was seven. A sad cycle with her mother’s mental illness and addictions, a revolving parade of ‘men du jour’ after her father’s decision to leave the family, and an increasing frustration with her mother’s inability to keep trying to find a man to save and define her: Emily is closed off and removed from the whole ‘searching for love’ train that Alice is driving.

Escape to a wedding week full of games, friendships, pitfalls and a series of reveals that allow you to understand the players, laugh at the antics, and see as Emily, often lost and wandering around trying to find ‘the next event’ actually finds herself and answers to questions (and fears) that she has held onto for years, wielding them as a suit of armor against vulnerability. The stumbling and stuttering, miscommunication and snap judgments are frustrating, yet wholly understandable as years after she’d decided she was grown, independent and content, Emily finds that not everything has to be a reflection of her childhood.

The Wedding that Changed Everything by Jennifer Joyce

Title: The Wedding that Changed Everything
Author: Jennifer Joyce
Genre: Contemporary Romantic Comedy, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Romantic Elements, Setting: Britain
Published by: HQ Digital
ISBN: 0008281424
Published on: 7 February, 2018
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 305
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Love happens when you least expect it…

Emily Atkinson stopped believing in fairy tales a long time ago! She’s fed up of dating frogs in order to find her very own Prince Charming and is giving up on men entirely…

But then she’s invited to the wedding of the year at the enchanting Durban Castle and realises that perhaps bumping into a real-life knight in shining armour isn’t quite as far away as she thought!

Will Emily survive the wedding and walk away an unscathed singleton – or finally find her own happily-ever-after?

A cosy and charming romance, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Caroline Roberts.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Jennifer Joyce

Jennifer Joyce is a writer of romantic comedies who lives in Manchester with her husband and two daughters.

I've been scribbling down bits of stories for as long as I can remember, graduating from a pen to a typewriter and then an electronic typewriter. And I felt like the bee's knees typing on THAT. I now write my books on a laptop (which has a proper delete button and everything).

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge