Walk Through Fire: Chaos #4 by Kristen Ashley ~AudioBook Review

Walk Through Fire: Chaos #4 by Kristen Ashley ~AudioBook Review

Welcome to my review of the audio version of Walk Through Fire from Kristen Ashley. This is the fourth book in her Chaos series, a MC romance saga.

AudioBook Review:

The first I have read from this author, Kristen Ashley’s titles have been on my “want’ list for quite a while now, although time constraints often kept me away.  In Walk Through Fire, I was given an opportunity to review the audio version, and jumped at the chance.  Who could resist a MC second chance romance with a 40-something hero and heroine, and a compelling set of circumstances that tore them apart years ago?

Years ago, Millie and High (also called Low) were an item, a true wild boy/girl combo who really had a bond and a love that seemed unbreakable.  But, tragedy and Millie’s realization that High needed someone different, someone ‘more’ than she thought herself capable of being had her walking away, leaving a crew of angry bikers and a devastated man.   Pulling the shards of his life, High went on with his life in a daze, married and now divorced from a woman he never truly loved, he’s now focused only on his children and the club.  He’s never quite forgotten Millie, or the anger at the betrayal from her leaving.

But now, Millie is back: reserved, hated by the club, and something about her is different.  She’s taken the years to ‘get over’ her feelings for High, but no one ever measured up, and she knows she had good reasons. He just may be available, if she can ever get past the angry shell….

The first half of this book is an emotional rollercoaster: Millie tells her story, we see their relationship and how vital and strong it was in flashback, and some of the circumstances that lead to her leaving are explored. Yet questions remain, even as the flame burns.  There is a solid sense of urgency on both Millie and High’s parts: it is as if they know they need to sort the truth out from all the hurt feelings and anger, and find a solution: together or apart.  Soon we move into the sweeter part of the story: full of steam and heart, and the interactions between the couple that show just how well matched they are.  Despite the difficulties of blended family, a particularly well-drawn 10 year old, an ex-wife and the reluctance on part of the men of Chaos to forgive and accept Millie as she is, the story settles some as the relationship between the two is explored and secondary characters and a plot line move into the forefront.

Narration for this story is provided by Kate Russell, who managed to move through multiple characters, times and dialog while remaining consistent and clear. Each character has a voice, a tone and delivery of words that is ‘theirs’, and those particular details bring a sense of the character, their emotional state and attitude of the moment are clear to the listener.  With the repeated POV switches, flashbacks and secondary characters popping in and out, Russell manages to help listeners know who is speaking /presenting the story simply by voice.

My introduction to the Chaos world and Ashley’s work was wonderful. A long, complex and emotional story line twenty years in the making is both engaging and engrossing bringing the world and the characters into my head and heart.


Stars:  Overall: 5  Narration: 5  Story: 5


Walk Through Fire: Chaos #4 by Kristen Ashley ~AudioBook Review

Title: Walk Through Fire
Author: Kristen Ashley
Series: Chaos #4
Also in this series: Own the Wind, Fire Inside, Ride Steady
Narrator: Kate Russell
Published by: Forever, Hachette Audio
ISBN: 1455533254
Published on: 27 October, 2015
Source: Hachette Audio
Pages: 624
Audio Length: 17 Hours: 44 minutes
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon AllRomance Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour IndieBound Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

The flame never dies . . .

Millie Cross knows what it's like to burn for someone. She was young and wild and he was fierce and even wilder-a Chaos biker who made her heart pound. They fell in love at first sight and life was good, until she learned she couldn't be the woman he needed and made it so he had no choice but to walk away. Twenty years later, Millie's chance run-in with her old flame sparks a desire she just can't ignore. And this time, she won't let him ride off . . .

Bad boy Logan "High" Judd has seen his share of troubles with the law. Yet it was a beautiful woman who broke him. After ending a loveless marriage, High is shocked when his true love walks back into his life. Millie is still gorgeous, but she's just a ghost of her former self. High's intrigued at the change, but her betrayal cut him deep-and he doesn't want to get burned again. As High sinks into meting out vengeance for Millie's betrayal, he'll break all over again when he realizes just how Millie walked through fire for her man . . .

See the Chaos Series on GoodReads

A copy of this title was provided via Hachette Audio for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 18 years of age due to drug and alcohol use / violence and/or sexual content in a genre not specified as Erotic.

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley is the New York Times bestselling author of over sixty romance novels including the Rock ChickColorado Mountain, Dream Man, Chaos, Unfinished Heroes, The ’Burg, Magdalene, Fantasyland, The ThreeGhost and Reincarnation and Honey series along with several standalone novels. She’s a hybrid author, publishing titles both independently and traditionally, her books have been translated in thirteen languages and she’s sold nearly three million books.


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.