A Very Vintage Christmas: An Unforgettable Christmas #1 by Tilly Tennant

A Very Vintage Christmas: An Unforgettable Christmas #1 by Tilly Tennant

Tilly Tennant returns to the blog today with the first in her Unforgettable Christmas series – a nice mix of chick lit, romance and tons of atmosphere. Please read on for my review of

A Very Vintage Christmas

It would be utterly impossible for me to not like a story that starts with the heroine’s professed love for the movie Harvey, in fact her love of all things vintage, black and white films from the 40’s and her determination to have a life that is surrounded by the things she loves. In fact, I might think Dodie and I were separated at birth (rather a prophetic thought when one gets into the book) as she and I are quite similar – but she is by far more interesting and nicer. Dodie’s got a newly opened vintage store with her flat above it, a best friend with a take no prisoners attitude, a grandmother that would put a sugar-stoked toddler to shame with her energy, a half-hearted, semi-committed relationship with a football mad couch potato and a determination to make a go of her shop.

But when her latest purchases arrive in a large lot from an estate sale, and a coat that she hopes will be perfect for her has a letter from 1944 in the pocket, the questions are never-ending. While her best friend Isla may not understand Dodie’s obsession with the letter, and not see the romance there, Dodie feels that it would only be right to return the letter to the person who received it, or a member of their family. But she has only a first name for both parties, and the start of an address. Research leads her to meet Ed, a resident in one of the two flats, unsure of the owners or their whereabouts, but with plenty of ideas and an apparent willingness to help her search.

Throughout Dodie’s ups and downs with the search, a Facebook post that garners press attention, and an actual lead to a family member of the letter’s recipient, her story is a curious mix of openness, self-assurance and wild self-doubts. The tentative relationship started with Ed that leaves her questioning his ‘secret squirrel’ ways, the apparent nonchalant treatment that she is expected to take from her long-ish term boyfriend, the true regard and friendship she’s developed with a homeless man – her heart just shines through. And Tilly Tennant takes us through Bournemouth – the Christmas Market, the beach, the events at the town garden all mixed and influenced both by Dottie’s choice of clothing (vintage), her thoughts, and most especially the fact that everyone she meets gains something from their interactions: smiles, kind words, help, even some healing. And with all of the immediate questions answered, against many odds, and a polar bear dip on Christmas morning – the story is a perfect entrée into the Christmas season – full of laughter, life and simpler hopeful moments curled up with a vintage movie.

A Very Vintage Christmas: An Unforgettable Christmas #1 by Tilly Tennant

Title: A Very Vintage Christmas
Author: Tilly Tennant
Series: An Unforgettable Christmas #1
Also in this series: A Cosy Candlelit Christmas
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Holiday Themed, Setting: Britain
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 1786810832
Published on: 27 September, 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 286
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo IndieBound Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

The fairy lights are up and shoppers are flooding the snowy seaside promenade. It’s going to be a busy month at Forget-Me-Not Vintage, a magical shop with a warm heart where every item has a story to be told.

With bright red hair and an infectious smile, Dodie is a hopeless romantic and absolutely one of a kind, just like the pieces in her shop.

When Dodie finds a love letter in the pocket of an old woollen coat, she makes it her mission to deliver it to its rightful owner. Following the address, she manages to persuade the handsome but reluctant new tenant, Edward, to help her with her search.

As the story of the letter unfolds, Dodie is there, as always, to pick up the pieces and make things right. But who will be there for her when her own love story needs a helping hand?

Is it too much to dream of a happy ending like the ones in the black and white movies she adores?

If you’re looking for a sweep-you-off-your-feet romance that will warm you through and through then the door to Forget-Me-Not Vintage is always open. Perfect for fans of Jane Linfoot, Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Tilly Tennant

Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing, graduating in 2009 with first class honours. She wrote her first novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books before the rest of the world gets them.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge