Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

Christina Lauren comes to the blog with a lovely story of a second chance at romance, trust and sharing your heart in

Twice in a Blue Moon

Tate Jones lived most of her young life ‘hiding in plain sight’, but never sharing the secret of who her father is except with her best friend, Charlie. Living with her grandmother and mother, working in their little café just north of Los Angeles, and never being allowed to just be a kid without secrets, her first trip away from home in over a decade is to London with her grandmother, leaving her mother in charge of the café. From the start, Tate and her grandmother have adjustments to make – it’s the biggest place Tate has ever been, her grandmother is unhappy with the room, and she’s planned every second of the trip for and with Tate. But, they also encounter another pair of Americans in a small café – Sam and his ‘pseudo-grandfather’ Luther. Instant sparks flash between Tate and Sam, and while he’s a bit older, the attraction is not one-sided and her grandmother and Luther seem to have things to discuss as well.

But, trust and Luther’s failing health have Tate in a tight spot – especially when partway into their vacation Tate shares her secret and the feelings she has for Sam, and just a bit later he and Luther are gone, checked out of the hotel, and the paparazzi are hounding Tate. Having lost her first love and her trust betrayed in such a callous manner has Tate closing down on the ‘personal’ side of her life, although she’s been offered the chance to act, and been very successful. Fast forward a decade and Tate has been chosen for a script that seems to be tailor made for her – one that will bring critical acclaim as well as stretch her skills. There’s just one problem – the story, and person, she is to play is Sam’s grandmother – the screenwriter is Sam, and he’s there – at the first table read – without her having any warning at all. Of course there is plenty of back and forth, and more than a bit of interference from Tate’s father- always to place himself in the best light, but things do come to a head with decisions to be made by both of them.

While this started out as a very YA read, the growth in both Sam and Tate when we rejoin them years later, as well as the revelations and self-awareness that is sparked during their reunion and information (or confirmation) about Tate’s father all seem to bring the story into a solid late-20’s sort of story – both characters have a fairly solid sense of who they are and who they are meant to be, and with the input from secondary characters that help to fix Tate’s challenges and worries into a more ‘familiar’ framework for her to sort through – the story is engaging, hopeful and full of the heart that one expects from a second chance at romance story.

Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

Title: Twice in a Blue Moon
Author: Christina Lauren
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Second Chance
Published by: Gallery Books
ISBN: 1501197428
Published on: 22 October, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 368
Audio Length: 9 Hours: 30 minutes
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour IndieBound GoogleAudibleDirect from Publisher
See this Title on Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it…

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Christina Lauren

Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of long-time writing partners/besties/soulmates and brain-twins, Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings, NYT/USA Today/#1 International bestselling authors of several Young Adult and Adult Fiction titles. Some of their books have kissing. Some of their books have A LOT of kissing.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.