The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen

The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen

Today I have a new release for you, The Reluctant Duchess is the newest title from Sharon Cullen, mixing Regency Era romance with a touch of mystery. Please read on for my review and to discover more about this title.

Book Review:

I’m a fan of Cullen’s Secrets & Seductions series, using spies and romance to wind a tale. In this story, we meet Sara, reeling from her cousin’s murder and now receiving some threatening letters of her own.  She turns to Gabriel, Duke of Rossmoyne, her cousin’s former fiancé for help, and the stage is set.

Sara was an interesting character: less sparkly than her cousin, she is a shy and calming presence, not demanding of bow and scrape. When his fiancé was murdered, Ross told Sara’s family they could turn to him for assistance, and now it appears that the murderer is targeting Sara. So, he takes action, moving Sara into his home and contacting his friend who specializes in investigation.

Ross is brash, forward moving and not always careful with his words: all fitting of a man of his title and station. He’s not uncaring however, he just wants to be at sea and not tied down to the constraints of society and the tonne.

These two are adorable together: we find a solid sense of Sara through interior monologue and concise observations. She’s truly the lynchpin in the story, even as Ross brings some flash and the occasional kerfuffle.  He’s intrigued by Sara the more they get to know one another, and that reliance becomes one of desire and enjoyment of one another, rather than a dependence for protection.

Twists and turns with plenty of questions surrounding the threats and why, this is a wonderful story that will leave you wanting more.

The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen

Title: The Reluctant Duchess
Author: Sharon Cullen
Genre: Historical Romance
Published by: Loveswept
ISBN: 1101883642
Published on: 10 November, 2015
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 274
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour
See this Title on Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Mary Balogh and Eloisa James, Sharon Cullen’s seductive new historical romance ignites as a shy country girl and a hotheaded duke surrender to dangerous temptations.

Lady Sara Emerson was jolted out of her dull provincial life by her cousin’s murder. Now that the killer seems to be targeting her, Sara seeks help from the man who was once her cousin’s fiancé, Gabriel Ferguson, Duke of Rossmoyne. With his towering frame and fiery personality, Ross cuts an intimidating figure. Living under his protection, however, has its own hazards—like the sudden urge Sara feels to take their relationship in new, exquisitely inappropriate directions.

Dazzled by the social graces of his betrothed, Ross never noticed her shy, blushing cousin. Looking at Sara now, though, he’s drawn to her lovely eyes and calm disposition. Funny how a year away from the hustle and bustle of the ton changes a man. But Ross has no intention of allowing a woman to interfere with his plan to return overseas. He will simply capture the murderer and set sail once again. The problem is, with her beguiling lips and heavenly touch, Sara makes him never want to leave home—or his bed—again.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Divider

About Sharon Cullen

Sharon is also the author of romantic suspense, paranormal romance and contemporary romance. The Notorious Lady Anne is Sharon Cullen’s first historical and her debut novel with Loveswept.

If you’d like to find out more about Sharon and her books, you can visit her at her blog or her website. She’s addicted to social networking so you can find her on Facebook and Twitter. Friend her! Like her! Follow her! She’d love to hang out with you and talk about her passion—books.

 


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.