A Taste of Seduction: The Disgraced Lords #5 by Bronwen Evans

A Taste of Seduction: The Disgraced Lords #5 by Bronwen Evans

The Disgraced Lords in the form of the Libertine Scholars return to the blog today with the fifth book in this series by Bronwen Evans.  Not a title that is particularly well-received as a stand alone, much of the interconnected thread of threat and mystery will be lost if this is the first book you pick up.  Please read on for my review of

A Taste of Seduction

I’ve read the first 3 books in this series, and now I jump forward to the fifth. The connection thread in this series is the Libertine Scholars, a group of young and titled male friends, all seeking to overcome their father’s inglorious reputations.  Each of the Libertines is under threat, and eac is striving to solve the questions around them as they work to their happy ever after.

A second chance at romance is the theme here, when Evangeline, now widowed and Hadley come face to face.  Old emotions rise to the surface, despite a rather thinly felt but frequently referred to letter.  Evangeline’s efforts to explain her ‘disastrous marriage’ and her lack of actual viscerally felt conflict and hesitation when encountering Hadley again after all the years let me down.  I loved this series for the LACK of ‘missish’ heroines, that cookie cutter ‘oh save me’ heroines who seemed to be missing that oomph that would make them stand out.

Editorially, Bronwen Evans was let down in this story. Many passages of show not tell took from the story, and a few twists and an unnecessary death just seemed to be added for effect, with little result. Adding in the secret child, a hero who was more able to berate and claim his hurt from betrayal than show it, and a general sense of wrap this up quick to get to an end without actually moving the connecting thread forward more than a few inches left me sad.  This was a series that showed some great potential, but the installments after the first couple of books have let it down.  I can only hope that the original editor from book one comes back and challenges Ms. Evans to live up to her writing and storytelling potential so clearly promised in the start of this series.

A Taste of Seduction: The Disgraced Lords #5 by Bronwen Evans

Title: A Taste of Seduction
Author: Bronwen Evans
Series: The Disgraced Lords #5
Also in this series: A Kiss of Lies, A Promise of More, A Touch of Passion
Genre: Historical Romance, Mystery Elements, Regency
Published by: Loveswept
ISBN: 1101883170
Published on: 16 August, 2016
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 283
Rated: two-half-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour
See this Title on Goodreads

The flames of desire fuel a torrid reunion as bestselling author Bronwen Evans returns with another captivating novel of the Disgraced Lords. See why Jen McLaughlin raves, “Bronwen’s historical romances always make the top of my reading list!”

Lady Evangeline Stuart chose to wed a tyrant with a title, or so society believes. That was five years ago—five long years she could have spent with her first and only love: Lord Hadley Fullerton, the second son of the Duke of Claymore. Now Evangeline is a widow, and her soul cries out for Hadley. But when they see each other at last, everything has changed. The passion in his eyes has been corrupted by betrayal. Somehow Evangeline must regain Hadley’s trust—without revealing the secret that would spoil the seduction.

Hadley is determined not to be distracted by Evangeline. He and the other Libertine Scholars are in pursuit of an enemy who has been striking at them from the shadows, and Evangeline’s mere presence could be dangerous. But with one smile, one touch, one taste of Evangeline’s lips, Hadley’s resolve is overpowered by much more pleasant memories. As the two enter into a discreet affair, Hadley vows to give her his body, never his heart. That she will have to earn.

See The Disgraced Lords Series on GoodReads

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Bronwen Evans

USA Today bestselling author, Bronwen Evans grew up loving books. She writes both historical and contemporary sexy romances for the modern woman who likes intelligent, spirited heroines, and compassionate alpha heroes. Evans is a three-time winner of the RomCon Readers’ Crown and has been nominated for an RT Reviewers’ Choice Award. She lives in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand with her dogs Brandy and Duke.