Summer Under the Stars by Catherine Ferguson

Summer Under the Stars by Catherine Ferguson

Catherine Ferguson returns to the blog with a story that is a bit woman’s fiction, a dash of romance and a whole bunch of summer in

Summer Under the Stars

The second book I’ve read from this author, and I was seriously hoping for better development, a less indecisive heroine and some solid reasons to like her ‘love interest’. The underlying plot that involved Daisy’s grief at the loss of her adoptive mother and her questions (and ultimate search) for her birth mother did have me engaged and curious to see where the story would go. But I patently disliked Toby and found him selfish, self-serving and rather flat. When he’s been such a pill and decides they need a ‘holiday’ away, and Daisy goes all out to arrange a retreat with glamping, no screen time, and plenty of together time he was just petulant. Of course – the two had been involved for a while – so why she didn’t know his likes and dislikes (including the outdoors) was a bit of a puzzle for me.

Then we add in Jake – a ‘blocked’ writer who’s encounter with Daisy didn’t go well, but he wants more. And, surprisingly enough this thirty-something heroine fancies herself in “love’ with him: making a miraculous recovery after discovering Toby’s infidelity and his inability to understand why she is upset to seeking out Jake. Oh, and did I mention that this is the village (or outskirts thereof) in which Daisy was born? Yeah – there’s plenty of drama to go round here.

What Ferguson did well was explore Daisy’s grief and her questions about her birth and all of the emotions being in ‘that place’ held for her. As well as recognizing just how much she missed the mother that raised her, she’s curious – as anyone would be, and perhaps even guilty and hopeful that a similar bond can be built. But, that was honestly the sum total of positive in this story for me. Perhaps there were too many elements that never quite felt plausible, or maybe it was that the author and editor didn’t dig into the story and lead with the strongest parts of the book. But the romances were flat and immature, Toby, Jake and Daisy were underdeveloped and immature, some pathetically so, with Daisy alternating between actual emotional moments and teenaged-tone dithering. I’ve read two from Ferguson and while the synopsis and settings always please, the actual book lets me down each time.

Summer Under the Stars by Catherine Ferguson

Title: Summer Under the Stars
Author: Catherine Ferguson
Genre: British, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Humor elements, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Setting: Britain
Published by: Avon Books UK
ISBN: 0008302510
Published on: 13 May, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 217
Rated: two-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

The laugh-out-loud new novel from the bestselling author, perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Jo Watson and Holly Martin.

Daisy’s had a tough year. After losing her mother and struggling with a job she hates, she really needs a break.

So, when her boyfriend suggests a summer getaway, Daisy jumps at the chance, organising a romantic trip to her friend Clemmy’s new glamping site. What better to help her heal than long walks in the fresh air and sipping prosecco under the stars?

But Daisy didn’t realise Toby hates all things outdoorsy – he’s far more bothered about working on the WiFi than walking in the wilderness. And when Toby isn’t there for Daisy when she needs him most, she starts to question whether he really is The One… especially with writer Jake distracting her from across the lake.

Will this be the relaxing getaway Daisy was hoping for? Or is this summer destined to end in disaster…?

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Catherine Ferguson

Catherine Ferguson burst onto the writing scene at the age of nine, anonymously penning a weekly magazine for her five-year-old brother (mysteriously titled the ‘Willy’ comic).

Catherine’s continuing love of writing saw her spend her twenties writing for various teenage magazines including Jackie and Blue Jeans before getting serious and becoming a sub-editor on the Dundee Courier & Advertiser.

She lives with her son in Northumberland.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.