Summer at Firefly Beach by Jenny Hale

Summer at Firefly Beach by Jenny Hale

Jenny Hale returns to the blog today with a lovely story of grief, change and second chances in

Summer at Firefly Beach

There must be something in the water as I’ve read three books in quick succession that all deal with loss, grief and a new path to happiness. And in this, Jenny Hale has created a unique twist on the ‘message from the departed’ story with a series of five tasks set out to Hallie to receive her own inheritance. But there are more things to be uncovered and discovered in this family – from Aunt Clara’s husband Hank is suffering the loss of his purpose. In an effort to help Hank, and themselves, Hallie, her mother, sister and her young son all converge on Firefly Beach to stay at Hank and Clara’s house. There’s one addition, Hallie’s best friend Ben, now working as a music producer, who comes along -more a member of the family, always playing with Hallie’s nephew, and a constant source of support and understanding for Hallie. But he’s also been in love with Hallie for forever, watching her date series of boys, being there when she and her fiancé were planning their wedding, and never really moving along toward his own life.

This was so special – with the list Hallie had made when she was twelve that encompassed her life goals – from building a sandcastle to living somewhere else, to kissing a boy she loves…. All in an attempt to get Hallie to let go and find her joy – a joy that she used to have when taking photos. For Aunt Clara was a renown designer, and she and Hallie are very similar: creative, imaginative and able to find the beauty in small and large moments. With her list feeling stifling, and not really sure of what step to take next as she’s got a secret she can’t get past, she finds Gavin, a well-known photographer and owner of a local gallery – who is interested in her photography, dealing with his own grief and is willing to teach Hallie how to edit and frame her photos. A match made for Hallie’s slow increase in confidence in both her photos and her ability to make a wholesale change in her life.

Bringing Ben and Hallie together takes a bit more work and time, as does discovering the ‘trespasser’ who has caused Uncle Hank so many sleepless nights. With Hallie starting to find her way through her pre-teen bucket list, and everyone seeming to find the magic of Firefly beach working its miracle, the story has many moments of true grief, laughter, caring and love. Most of all love. The story is a wonderful escape into a ‘find a path with some not always gentle’ nudges, plenty of family support and the ability to dream and create being set free. A great summer read for when you want something different and quite unique, that reinforces the power of love to overcome most everything.

Summer at Firefly Beach by Jenny Hale

Title: Summer at Firefly Beach
Author: Jenny Hale
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Friendship, Holiday Themed, Second Chance
ISBN: 9781786817334
Published on: 17 June, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 275
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

A totally emotional, gripping page-turner from the bestselling author of The Summer House about the importance of family, re-discovering who you are, and the magic of finding true love under the summer sun. Perfect for fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Nancy Thayer and Susan Mallery.

Hallie Flynn’s favorite place in the world is her great Aunt Clara’s beautiful beachside house, with its inviting wraparound porch and enchanting views across the sparkling turquoise ocean. For Hallie, going to Firefly Beach, filled with magical memories, feels like coming home, but in one moment Hallie is left broken-hearted when her adored Aunt Clara passes away…

As always, Aunt Clara has thought of everything. In her last letter she included a bucket list Hallie wrote as a child, for Hallie to complete. Leaving her dead-end job and predictable schedule, Hallie returns to Firefly beach and embraces Aunt Clara’s words. All the time her childhood best friend Ben Murray, with his golden charm and infuriating ability to be right all the time, is by her side.

Spending the summer with Ben, as they enjoy drinks on the pier and endless talks stretched out in the soft sand, Hallie begins to remember the things that matter most to her. But following the bucket list isn’t an easy journey. It forces her to face the pain of her past as she starts to fall for the person who has been there for her all along...

Just as her heart is healing, an encounter with a newcomer to the beach town, wealthy and talented photographer Gavin Wilson, leaves her questioning her future and shows her she has to make a difficult decision that could mean losing everything.

Will Hallie be able to fulfill Aunt Clara’s last wish and change her life? Or will a secret she’s been keeping destroy her new beginning—and the chance to experience true love?

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Jenny Hale

When she graduated college, one of Jenny Hale’s friends said “Look out for this one; she’s going to be an author one day!” Despite being an avid reader and a natural storyteller, it wasn’t until that very moment that the idea of writing novels occurred to her.

Sometimes our friends can see the things that we can’t. Whilst she didn’t start straight away, that comment sowed a seed and several years, two children and hundreds of thousands of words later, Jenny finished her first novel, Coming Home for Christmas, which became an instant bestseller.

 

Bookouture blog tour

 

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.