Summer in a Cornish Cove by Kate Ryder

Summer in a Cornish Cove by Kate Ryder

Kate Ryder comes to the blog today with an atmospheric story set in Cornwall centering around two damaged people and a current threat. Please read on for my review of

Summer in a Cornish Cove

Cara Penhaligon lives in a glorious place, even as her own life doesn’t always reflect that beauty. Widowed and struggling to make a name for herself with her art, Cara is beautifully developed and drawn – not hiding her issues or flaws, but allowing the struggles she’s overcome to build the backstory and show us where she is now. Oliver is a Hollywood star, his world is starting to fray along the edges, so he’s run off to Cornwall to heal, realign his priorities and hopefully, avoid a determined stalker. The third primary character in this story is the setting itself: the beauty and ambience of this special place where sea and land meet: scents, sights, sunsets and picturesque communities that are often more prevalent in minds and hearts than one would come to expect.

While the development of the relationship between Cara and Oliver is cleverly plotted, and the tension from the stalker’s attention, their own struggles with loss, commitment and even the possible, the story is a bit uneven and tends to lose the balance between the elements that would allow the relationship to lead us forward to conclusion. Too many ends left unresolved, a few wrapped too quickly, and I find that this was a story best remembered for the ambiance and atmosphere through the descriptions of Cornwall, and not for the characters contained in here.

Summer in a Cornish Cove by Kate Ryder

Title: Summer in a Cornish Cove
Author: Kate Ryder
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Setting: Britain
Published by: Aria
ISBN: 178854109X
Published on: 1 April, 2018
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 512
Rated: three-stars
Heat: One FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Set against the stunning backdrop of the glorious Cornish Rivieria, this summer will change their lives for ever! The book to fall in love with this summer - perfect for fans of Fern Britton, Liz Fenwick and Veronica Henry.

Oliver Foxley is an acclaimed movie star, global heartthrob and one half of Hollywood's golden couple. But under the glare of the spotlight his 'perfect' life is slowly starting to crumble.

Cara Penhaligon is a struggling young Cornish artist, and widowed mother of two children. Life has been unbearably harsh to Cara, but meeting Oliver might just give her a second chance at the happiness she deserves. As each begins to heal the other, the pieces of Oliver's frustrating jigsaw puzzle effortlessly fall into place. But as the Cornish summer draws to a close, Oliver faces the toughest of choices, and no one emerges quite as they were at the start.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Kate Ryder

Kate Ryder has worked in a number of industries including publishing, mainly as a proof-reader/copy editor and writer for a national newspaper, magazines and publishing houses. A member of the New Writers Scheme with the Romantic Novelists Association, in 2013 she published her debut novel, The Forgotten Promise, a timeslip romance and mysterious ghost story, which was shortlisted for Choc Lit's 2016 'Search for a Star' and also honoured with a Chill With A Book 'Book of the Month' Award. Kate lives in a renovated 200-year-old sawmill in the beautiful Tamar Valley with her husband and a collection of animals.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.