Spy Fall: Rebellious Brides #1 by Diana Quincy

Spy Fall: Rebellious Brides #1 by Diana Quincy

The first in the new Rebellious Brides historical romance series from author Diana Quincy is on the blog today.  A touch different from the English focused settings we know, this story concerns itself with Napoleonic France and the potential of English traitorous behaviors. Please read on for my review of

Spy Fall

Mari Lamarre is growing in her notoriety as an aeronaut- piloting hot air balloons in the same fashion as her brothers before her.  And like her brothers, Mari is also a spy working for the English.  She’s been set to discover if the Marquess of Aldridge is passing vital information to Napoleon’s people, and sets her goal for a stealthy entry into the Marquess’ life.

Renowned rake concerned with his own whims of the moment, Cosmo Dunsmore, son of the Marquess is returning from a night of debauchery, reeking of whore’s perfume and other bodily odors when he is suddenly felled by a parachuting French lass who is attempting a stealthy landing on his family property.

Instantly intrigued, yet concerned, Cosmo and Mari have sparks that fly from attraction and mistrust, but he can’t help but want her.  Assuming the best way to discover what she needs to, Mari is guarded, but intrigued. Things are only more confusing for Mari when she realizes that she does, in fact, like the Marquess, and perhaps even sympathize with his loss of a daughter in childbirth and the cooling of his relationship with Cosmo because of their shared guilt.

I’m left rather neutral in impressions of this story: I was intrigued by the premise, and one can’t help but be intrigued by a female of Mari’s day being so gung-ho about ballooning and parachuting.  But I found she alternated dramatically between coarse and rude to something more expected – a bit uneven and I was not always convinced her character was particularly watchful, discerning or thoughtful.  Cosmo was spoiled and more than frequently self-centered. I understood his grief, but his introduction with Mari’s instant reaction of him being ‘perfect’ just rubbed me wrong.  Drunken men are rarely perfect, and those who smell of a whore’s boudoir and the goings-on therein are not perfection in any circle….except a bordello.  I just couldn’t see the romance as viable, and I didn’t see enough consistency to see it as such.

For the mystery and proof of traitorous behaviors that Mari was determined to ferret out – I’m still on the fence. Personally I didn’t find her discerning or clever enough to put the pieces together.  Other moments shone: her research into ballooning of the time with the advancements and failures were well documented. Unfortunately there were huge gaffes in her riding on horseback scenes, the overuse of a modern-feeling heroine in a late regency era time period and the inconsistency of the characters that left me a bit flat.

Intriguing for the differences, fast paced after the early introductions of the story and leaving me with some unanswered questions, this is a decent start to a new series.

Spy Fall: Rebellious Brides #1 by Diana Quincy

Title: Spy Fall
Author: Diana Quincy
Series: Rebellious Brides #1
Also in this series: From London with Love
Genre: Historical Romance
Published by: Loveswept
ISBN: 0988982978
Published on: 10 May, 2016
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 277
Rated: three-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour
See this Title on Goodreads

When a fiery French parachutist lands on a drunken Lord Cosmo Dunsmore, he surmises she’s an angel sent from above. But is she a spy after something far more sinister than his debauched soul?

A fearless parachutist is out of her depth…

Mari Lamarre is gaining fame for her daring aeronautic endeavors, but her riskiest adventure begins when she collides with the darkly charismatic son of the Marquess of Aldridge. If her mission succeeds, Cosmo’s father will be ruined.

A rakehell falls for a dangerous woman…

Surrendering to a fierce passion, the two embark on a torrid affair, even as Cosmo vows to protect his family at all costs. But in doing so, will he risk losing the captivating beauty who’s swept into his life and made off with his heart?

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Diana Quincy

Diana Quincy is an award-winning former television journalist who decided she'd rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed.

Fans of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas and Sabrina Jeffries will love Diana's Regency world of dashing dukes, irresistible rogues and the headstrong, determined women who capture their hearts. New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes says SEDUCING CHARLOTTE is "Sweet, steamy, and thoroughly enjoyable...Equal parts action, passion and fun."

Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with her husband and two sons. When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows.

 

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges: