Springtime at Hope Cottage: Sweetwater Springs #2 by Annie Rains

Springtime at Hope Cottage: Sweetwater Springs #2 by Annie Rains

Annie Rains comes to the blog with the second in her Sweetwater Springs series, this one bringing Josie back to town to visit with her best friend in

Springtime at Hope Cottage

I’ll be perfectly honest – I just don’t understand why Annie Rains isn’t on everyone’s book shelf. Her characters are always complex and layered, her stories have a core of sweetness and kindness that we all could use, and their connections are palpable – you want to visit the places she’s created, make friends with the people and sit in the café to people watch.  Springtime at Hope Cottage is no exception. From first coming to Sweetwater Springs where we met Kaitlyn intent on making the little B&B in the North Carolina mountains a viable business, and with her finding love with the half-owner Mitch, a resident, the magic in this little town was tangible.  Now as Josie has returned for a little break, it’s been lonely in New York without Kaitlyn and with changes at the top for the magazine she works for, work isn’t all that hot either. And for someone who exists for her job, burying away her own fears of not being enough and fears of being too close to someone who could break her heart, she’s more in need of the magic of the place than anyone else.

But, the B&B is busy and Kaitlyn is swamped with work and the uptick in business, particularly with the upcoming festival, and she can’t meet Josie at the airport, instead sending her husband’s friend Tucker to pick her up.  From the start, Josie’s wound a bit tightly, and Tucker with his no-nonsense connections to the earth, nature and the town as well as his good looks and instant impression of Josie as a high maintenance princess leaves the conversation rather stilted and both with an unusual reaction to one another. He can’t forget about her, even as he is still mourning his wife and wanting to ‘honor’ her memory, and Josie finding him annoying and perhaps a bit too aware of her – like down to her innermost thoughts aware – and finds herself unsettled and anxious.

From here it is classic Rains – Tuck is native American, a Cherokee whose mother has been dedicated to teaching her children and her community about the traditions, foods and ways of time immemorial.  Tuck uses nature and his own training to work his magic on those who need help regaining function. When Josie, unexpectedly finds herself in need of his skills after twisting her knee, the two find themselves working together, and doors start to open in their relationship.  When her apartment building is damaged by fire and she’s got to find a new place to live – the relationship with Tuck seems to jump forward as she moves into his garage apartment. So different these two are, but Josie’s proximity shows Tuck the caring person beneath the city polish, and discovers that with his new client, she’s simply magical.  Of course, there are secrets to uncover, but the heartstrings and connection between the two build, giving both a second chance at new possibilities, all with plenty of support and some big changes for everyone involved.  Leaving me with a smile and plenty of interest in the third friend in Tuck’s group and his little sister and nephew, the sweetness o Sweetwater Springs, combined with the community, it’s people and a few nudges from the author make this series one that is a pure delight.

Springtime at Hope Cottage: Sweetwater Springs #2 by Annie Rains

Title: Springtime at Hope Cottage
Author: Annie Rains
Series: Sweetwater Springs #2
Also in this series: Christmas on Mistletoe Lane
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Sweet Romance -Adult, Family Saga, Friendship, Interracial, Multi-Cultural, Second Chance, Setting: American, Small Town
Published by: Forever
ISBN: 1538713985
Published on: 5 March, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 416
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo IndieBound Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Fans of RaeAnne Thayne and Debbie Mason will want to cozy up with this small-town series from USA Todaybestselling author Annie Rains.

When opposites attract…

As an editor at a major New York City magazine, Josie Kellum is always on the go…until an injury sidelines her in the small town of Sweetwater Springs. Luckily, her new physical therapist is easy going and easy on the eyes. When their sessions start to heat up, in more ways than one, Josie is intrigued. But she has a city and career she loves waiting for her. So why does the thought of leaving him suddenly feel a lot like leaving home?

Tucker Locklear is just starting to move on after his wife’s death. While he can’t deny his attraction to the gorgeous, vivacious Josie, he won’t risk the pain of losing someone again. The sooner he gets Josie back on her feet and back to her real life, the safer he’ll be. But in Sweetwater Springs, love has a way of mending even the most damaged heart.

Includes the bonus short story Last Chance Bride from Hope Ramsay.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Annie Rains

Annie Rains is a contemporary romance author who writes small town love stories set in fictional towns on the coast of North Carolina. Raised in one of America's largest military communities, Annie often features heroes who fight for their countries, while also fighting for a place to call home and a good woman to love. When Annie isn't writing, she's spending time with her husband and 3 children, or reading a book by one of her favorite authors. Represented by Sarah Younger at Nancy Yost Literary Agency (NYLA).

 

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.