The Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren

The Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren

Christina Lauren returns to the blog with another story of finding love despite unusual (or perhaps because of) circumstances with  

The Soulmate Equation 

Heads up people – this story uses a DNA-based dating app to match people – bringing in science, maths, probabilities and statistics – and delivers it all with a sense of humor and fun that can’t be eclipsed.   

Jess is a single mum with a daughter (Juno) and grandparents who help to raise her.  Struggling for every penny to make ends meet is nothing new, but as a maths geek and loving numbers, data and statistics she’s always looking for options but for in one place – men.  With parents who were absent, a baby daddy who dipped before Juno was born and more than a few disastrous relationships, she’s not interested – with a capital NOT.  But, when she hears all the buzz surrounding GeneticAlly, a dating service that uses data, statistics and DNA to find a match –she’s intrigued. Intrigued enough to give it a shot. But her results are improbable at best, faked at worst – because a 98% match brings her face to face with the application developer – River. A man she knows, thinks is arrogant and unappealing – and there’s no way she’s interested.  

Of course, there’s a twist – the app wants Jess to get to know River – they’ll even pay her – because they do believe that their metrics are solid and correct.  With every penny counted, the money isn’t something Jess can give up – but can she bite her tongue often enough to deal with the snobby and stubborn Dr. Pena?  

Taking what is a fluffy premise (fake date) to include some more serious questions as the two get to know each other – the story is fast-paced and clever.  River is (as one might expect) rather socially awkward and takes some navigation on Jess’s part to get to know him better. Is it enough that statistics make a match – or is there something undefined (and undefinable) in love that transcends all ‘science’ that brought them together in the first place.  Additionally, we tackle some ‘touchy’ subjects that are primary concerns with DNA testing, including River’s feelings about eugenics, Jess’s familiarity with numbers and data, and plenty of chemistry (once the two let themselves simply be).  A fun, clever and feel-good story that will have you thinking (and laughing) often.  

The Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren

Title: The Soulmate Equation
Author: Christina Lauren
Genre: Contemporary Romantic Comedy, Family Saga, Friendship, Humor elements, Setting: American
Published by: Gallery Books
ISBN: 1982179716
Published on: 18 May, 2021
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 368
Audio Length: 9 Hours: 39 minutes
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour IndieBound Book Depository GoogleAudibleDirect from Publisher
See this Title on Goodreads

The New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners returns with a witty and effervescent novel about what happens when two people with everything on the line are thrown together by science—or is it fate? Perfect for fans of The Rosie Project and One Plus One.

Single mom Jessica Davis is a data and statistics wizard, but no amount of number crunching can convince her to step back into the dating world. Raised by her grandparents—who now help raise her seven-year-old daughter, Juno—Jess has been left behind too often to feel comfortable letting anyone in. After all, her father was never around, her hard-partying mother disappeared when she was six, and her ex decided he wasn’t “father material” before Juno was even born. Jess holds her loved ones close, but working constantly to stay afloat is hard...and lonely.

But then Jess hears about GeneticAlly, a buzzy new DNA-based matchmaking company that’s predicted to change dating forever. Finding a soulmate through DNA? The reliability of numbers: This Jess understands.

At least she thought she did, until her test shows an unheard-of 98 percent compatibility with another subject in the database: one of GeneticAlly’s founders, Dr. River Peña. This is one number she can’t wrap her head around, because she already knows Dr. Peña. The stuck-up, stubborn man is without a doubt not her soulmate. But GeneticAlly has a proposition: Get to know him and we’ll pay you. Jess—who is barely making ends meet—is in no position to turn it down, despite her skepticism about the project and her dislike for River. As the pair are dragged from one event to the next as the “Diamond Match” that could launch GeneticAlly’s valuation sky-high, Jess begins to realize that there might be more to the scientist—and the science behind a soulmate—than she thought.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Christina Lauren

Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of long-time writing partners/besties/soulmates and brain-twins, Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings, NYT/USA Today/#1 International bestselling authors of several Young Adult and Adult Fiction titles. Some of their books have kissing. Some of their books have A LOT of kissing.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.