Rush: White Lace # 1 by Gina Gordon with Excerpt

Rush: White Lace # 1 by Gina Gordon with Excerpt

Welcome to my stop for a sexy new adult romance from Gina Gordon. Please read on for my excerpt, check the other tour stops to see what other readers thought about the title and don’t forget to enter the tour-wide giveaway where you could win a Loveswept Mug, a Flirt Mug and an eBook bundle to celebrate the release of RUSH.

Rush

Mild-mannered, soon to graduate from law school, plain Jane, too busy to breathe with newly acquired bucket list Everly meets the smoking hot heir to, and former star of the largest porn empire in Canada, Max.  Come for the premise – stay for the fun!

And this was a FUN story: far from dipping into what could have been a quagmire of sleaze with the porn connections, Max is funny, rich, a touch on the cocky side (no pun intended) and the only child and heir to a thriving industry.  Everly’s life has been far different: both her parents are lawyers and dedicated to hard work reaping rewards.  Everything Everly does is with an eye to her future career, until her grandmother dies and leaves her a house and a bucket list that she is to complete BEFORE the end of law school.  Quite a devious and forward thinking grandmother here!

Told in alternating first person points of view, we see the characters as they really are, and get some insight on the facades they project, as well as their own issues, insecurities and desires. It’s all on show, and to great effect.  Gordon doesn’t leave this as the only insight into the characters though: a host of secondary characters that are as compelling as Everly and Max, and have plenty to say about everyone!  Working through Everly’s grandmother-created bucket list present challenges and options for them both, and allow them to see futures of their own making, not just their parent’s expectations.

Yes – this did have some sexy moments and some funny moments, but never quite lost the heart or the honest emotions of the characters, even as you were laughing at study incentives or wondering just how long it took for the bucket list ideas to come forward.  There’s very little not to like in this read in one sitting book, and trust me, porn has never been so funny!

Rush: White Lace # 1 by Gina Gordon with Excerpt

Title: Rush
Author: Gina Gordon
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Published by: Loveswept
ISBN: B00N6PEWJQ
Published on: 12 May, 2015
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 292
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour
See this Title on Goodreads

In this edgy, sizzling romance for fans of Monica Murphy and Abbi Glines, a bad boy shows a straitlaced law student how to slow down and savor the good things. 

Everly Parker is about to graduate from law school, always busy, and can’t stop rushing through life. Her late grandmother left her a bucket list of meaningful, can’t-miss experiences, but she hasn’t completed a single one. Then searing-hot Max Levin bursts into her world. As a casting director for a porn production company, Max is loaded, cocky, and all wrong for Everly. Still, she’s tempted enough to cross the first item off her list: Go out with someone you’d never give the time of day.

Inheriting a porn empire isn’t every guy’s dream (well, actually, it probably is), but Max isn’t complaining. It’s just that until he meets Everly, he has no idea what he’s been missing. As the pressure mounts to take over the family business, Max can’t help wondering what would happen if he chose Everly instead. So far, his life has been a wild ride, but only Everly promises the greatest rush of all: love.

 

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Tasty Excerpt

 

Another day, another woman screws on camera for money.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that. It pays my bills, and it’s how my father spent the last thirty years building his empire.

As the heir to White Lace Productions, it’s my responsibility to find the hottest and most willing women in the city. It’s what I do, and I’m damn good at it.


I wrapped my hand around the front door handle to the 24-hour café and stepped into the bright light of the establishment. My director, and best friend, Ben Lockwood, by my side, as he has been since we were eight years old.

“This is definitely your most creative attempt at finding new talent.” Ben cleared his throat beside me.

I clapped him on the shoulder, his shaggy blond hair catching under my fingers. “Madam assured me these are her best girls. This is going to work.”

I’d never been more sure about anything in my life and if I could have given myself an award for innovation, I would have. Not to mention, this was an untapped resource. A way to prove to my father that I had what it took to take over White Lace.

When you grow up with sex toys in the family room, half-naked women at your breakfast table, and lose your virginity to a porn star at sixteen, there’s no question you’ll follow in your father’s footsteps. Besides, what red-blooded male wouldn’t want to work in porn? Not many, and I owed it to every single one of them to make the most if it.

“Can I help you?” A blond-haired hostess greeted us with a pretty smile from her perch behind the desk.

“We’re meeting some . . . friends.” I quirked my eyebrow. “I believe the reservation is under Jade.

A working girl’s name, no question. But when selling sex for money, pseudonyms were an occupational must.

The hostess motioned to two women sitting on opposite sides of a booth. I nodded and thanked her for her help.

I strode across the café checking out my surroundings. It was your typical establishment. The far wall was lined with booths, the benches covered in easy-wipe brown plastic. Wood tables and matching chairs sat in the middle. The seating area was sectioned off with a metal railing from the order counter, where a large refrigerated showcase housed many delicious-looking desserts. My eye caught on a chocolate cheesecake. Thanks to my mother, I had a weakness for all things sweet. It’s a good thing I spent a lot of time on the running track.

Ben’s voice carried over my shoulder. “It still surprises me that our business meetings consist of meeting as many girls as we can and asking them to take off their clothes.”

Although tonight was only a meet-and-greet, before I offered a contract, I had to inspect the merchandise. It used to be my favorite part of the job. Don’t get me wrong, at first, I was as giddy as a thirteen-year-old boy finding his first Penthouse magazine, but then it got old. Boring. Mundane. There was no excitement in it anymore. A naked woman was just as enticing as a route canal. 

And wasn’t that just completely fucked-up.

rp_Giveaway-Banner.png

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About Gina Gordon

When her dream of becoming a mafia princess didn’t pan out, Gina Gordon went after her second dream: becoming a writer. And she hasn’t looked back. A self-proclaimed happily-ever-after junkie and cupcake connoisseur, Gordon loves spinning contemporary tales of knee-bending first kisses, unconditional love, and super-hot sex. She lives in Milton, Ontario, with her husband and their lovable dog.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.