Navigate / search

Prima Donna by Laura Drewry with Excerpt and Giveaway

Welcome to my stop for Prima Donna by Laura Drewry. Please be sure to check out the other tour stops, read the excerpt and don’t forget to enter the tour wide giveaway where you could  win a  $25 eGift Card of Winner’s Choice Bookseller and Copy of PLAIN JAYNE by Laura Drewry.

Book Review:

My first encounter with this author, and I was charmed by the wit and heart displayed in this story.  Regan and Carter are able to show real development in their connection, with a little help from their friends, and a touch of otherworldly help from Yoda as Drewry quotes Han Solo and mixes in Star Wars references that are sure to please the geek in all of us.

Regan is a solid, stand up character: hard-working, determined, smart and a bit stubborn she has not had an easy life, but rather than bemoan that fact, she moves forward tackling obstacles one at a time. Her salon is her dream, and things are going well until the landlord puts the building up for sale and her shop in jeopardy.  With bills to pay and the added burden of her mother’s medical expenses, she is scrambling for options.

Carter is a pediatrician, in love with his motorcycle and his freedom has a playboy reputation and isn’t interested in Mrs. Right.  Wonderful with his patients, Carter really is one of those guys that you just know is going to be special and wonderful, despite his unwillingness to settle in a relationship.

Carter and Regan have mutual friends in Jayne and Nick, and this allows them a ‘friendly’ connection even though both have desires for more.   They are reluctant to test the boundaries because of their friends, but when sparks really fly on New Year’s these two start to come together. But their opening up and solidifying their relationship is hampered by a few issues.  Carter has opened a new medical office, and has hired Regan as the receptionist.  That could be tricky from a boss/ employee perspective, but he’s not letting her off that easily.  Neither one of them is particularly open or good at sharing their feelings and fears, but their burgeoning friendship is starting to show that they can trust in one another.

Surprisingly, it really is Carter who opens up and lays his secrets at Regan’ s feet, not allowing her to turn away or ignore the realization that they have something special.  Sweet and engaging, this story just motors along without great moments of conflict or angst, but clearly delineating the growth of their connection in a way that felt logical, natural and not too rushed. Drewry has created a lovely story: satisfying and solidly honest with insets of humor and Star Wars references that add a lighthearted feel.

Prima Donna by Laura Drewry  with Excerpt and Giveaway

Title: Prima Donna
Author: Laura Drewry
Published by: Loveswept
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 316
Rated: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Downpour IndieBound Audible

Goodreads


About the Book:

In USA Today bestselling author Laura Drewry’s witty, sizzling, and tender romance for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, a woman who can’t slow down discovers that the perfect guy is in hot pursuit.

Even when her hair salon goes under and she’s on the brink of breaking, Regan Burke keeps her “I’m just fine” attitude. She’s had a tough life, coping with a difficult family and keeping her act together . . . barely. Right now, she just needs a job, any job, so she can pay her mother’s medical bills. It’s the exact wrong time for Carter Scott to come into her life—and to be so damn sexy, so distracting, and so determined to get close.

Carter isn’t looking for anything serious—his heart belongs to the kids who depend on his pediatric practice—but something about Regan makes him reconsider. Maybe it’s the scars she hides so well, the secrets she can’t share. Carter knows all about that kind of pain, and he wants to help. But offering Regan a job in his office only makes things worse, even if their chemistry is off the charts. Lucky for them both, Carter isn’t about to let go of love without a fight.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Tasty Excerpt

Regan didn’t need anyone to love her, she just needed a little pick-me-up, a little distraction, and if anyone deserved that, Girlie Regan argued, it was her. And if that distraction happened to present itself at her front door in a leather jacket, looking and smelling better than any man had a right to, who was she to argue?

Had a guy ever whispered her name against her neck like that, so soft, so deep, so . . . oh, screw it. What’s the worst that could happen? With her fingers still hooked around the leather strip, Regan swallowed hard.

“Close the door before we scare Mrs. McLaren across the hall.”

A slow smile spread over Carter’s face as he reached his foot back and kicked the door shut.

She inhaled slowly and forced herself to stop staring at his mouth. “I have one rule.”

“Only one?” He pinched open her hair clip, tossed it over his shoulder, and filled both hands with her hair as he leaned in to kiss her again.

Damn, he was making it really hard for Rational Regan to think straight. Another smile, another kiss, this one against her jaw as he chuckled low in his throat.

“What’s your rule?”

“I . . . uh . . . oh . . .”

He pressed a soft kiss just below her ear, then moved lower to where her neck curved into her shoulder, pulling another full-body shudder out of her.

“Damn, you smell good.” His low, ragged breath had Regan moving, tripping, bumping into furniture and walls as she dragged him backward through the apartment, one hand fisted around his shirt, the other fumbling to shove his jacket over his shoulders and down his arms.

As they crashed against the bedroom door, Regan’s sensible side tried desperately to run blocker, but her girlie side, finally set free, wasn’t about to give up an inch of ground. Not now when Carter had her pulled her up tight against his chest, and definitely not when he looked down at her with those oh-so-dark eyes and that sexy little half grin that promised this would be a New Year’s to remember.

Girlie Regan looked up from where it had Rational Regan pinned in a half nelson and cheered, but not before Rational Regan choked out her final breath.

“You can’t sleep over.”

Carter’s slow, rumbling chuckle was muffled slightly as she jerked his shirt up over his head. “I don’t know what you think is gonna happen here, sweetheart, but you can bet your ass sleep’s not going to be part of it.”

About Laura Drewry

USA Today Bestselling author, Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.

Leave a comment

name*

email* (not published)

website

CommentLuv badge