A Few Pecans Short of a Pie: Southern Eclectic #2.5 by Molly Harper

A Few Pecans Short of a Pie: Southern Eclectic #2.5 by Molly Harper

Molly Harper comes to the blog with a mid-series installment in her Southern Eclectic series, this is Margot’s time to shine in

A Few Pecans Short of a Pie

If you’ve not read the earlier books in this Southern Eclectic series (there are six volumes out there) and trust me- they are laugh-out-loud, bless her heart sort of fun. Set in a small Georgia town with plenty of colorful characters, many related to Margot through blood or marriage. But it’s Margot’s marriage that is on the docket in this novella – she and Kyle, widowed father of two little girls and Elementary school principal are ‘engaged’ and expecting a child together, after a VERY short time ‘knowing’ one another. Of course, many of the residents are giving her side-eye with the whole pregnant and unmarried thing- something that all of her family, particularly cousin Frankie, tells her will be forgotten and forgiven once married.

That’s the problem though: with morning sickness that is happening at all hours, and triggered by many things, worst of all the smell of coconut, her worst moment of public humiliation was an ‘attack’ over funeral flowers as the deceased was being loaded into the hearse. Margot not only feels sick all the time, and only sweet tea makes her feel better, but she’s got aunts who are pushing for ‘inclusion’ in the wedding decisions, not to mention a one-upsmanship game from women in town who want to ‘climb the ladder”. Poor Margot – as an event planner who’s worst disaster was a group of hangry flamingoes that attacked a shrimp tower in the middle of a high-profile event, is thinking fondly of those days.

Fortunately for her – two things happened: she found that pecan pie from the newly opened bakery in town with proprietor dating a cousin – AND a sympathetic and wholly wonderful associate at the bridal shop who empathized with the bullying and suggestions about dresses that Margot didn’t find as THE dress With plenty of sage advice from her father and their new relationship, some wonderful moments with Kyle’s girls, and plenty of laughter – everything came together fulfilling her estranged mother’s worst fear… she’d be barefoot and pregnant at her wedding.

A Few Pecans Short of a Pie: Southern Eclectic #2.5 by Molly Harper

Title: A Few Pecans Short of a Pie
Author: Molly Harper
Series: Southern Eclectic #2.5
Also in this series: Sweet Tea and Sympathy, Peachy Flippin' Keen, Ain't She a Peach?, Gimme Some Sugar
Genre: Comedic Elements, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Friendship, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Setting: American, Small Town, Southern
Published by: Gallery Books
ISBN: 1501178997
Published on: 4 February, 2019
Format:eARC
Pages: 110
Audio Length: 2 Hours: 49 minutes
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo IndieBound GoogleAudibleDirect from Publisher
See this Title on Goodreads

Sexy school principal Kyle faces the biggest challenge of his career: getting his (pregnant) event planner girlfriend Margot down the aisle before the baby arrives!

Readers first fell in love with big city event planner Margot in the first Southern Eclectic novel, Sweet Tea and Sympathy, as she discovered a long-lost branch of her family—the McCreadys, of McCready's Bait Shop & Funeral Home. To Margot’s surprise, she's taken a liking to life in small-town Georgia...helped along by a romance with the hot elementary school principal.

The two of them have been taking it slow—or they were until Margot gets pregnant! Kyle wants to make an honest woman of her, but Margot's still trying to proceed with caution. After all, she was the best event planner in Chicago before she ever came to Lake Sackett—her wedding has to be perfect, and perfect includes not having the baby halfway down the aisle.

With her trademark witty prose and warmhearted storytelling, Molly Harper’s newest glimpse of the McCready family will be perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Amy E. Reichert.

A copy of this title was provided via for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Molly Harper

Molly Harper is the author of two popular series of paranormal romance, the Half-Moon Hollow series and the Naked Werewolf series. She also writes the Bluegrass ebook series of contemporary romance. A former humor columnist and newspaper reporter, she lives in Kentucky with her family, where she is currently working on the next Southern Eclectic novel.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.