Peachy Flippin’ Keen: Southern Eclectic #1.5 by Molly Harper

Peachy Flippin' Keen: Southern Eclectic #1.5 by Molly Harper

Molly Harper comes to the blog today with a novella installment in her Southern Eclectic series. A little bit chick lit, a bit romance and plenty of humor – join me for a laugh as I review

Peachy Flippin’ Keen

Despite my having a TBR that is taller than I am, I couldn’t wait to dive into this book. Frankie is the undertaker for the McCready Funeral Home and Bait Shop in little Lake Sackett, as well as the county coroner. After surviving childhood leukemia, she spends her days living life exactly as she chooses: novelty t-shirts, inappropriate footwear, rabid loyalty to family and a determination to give every client in her downstairs office the best treatment possible. She’s also determined to live life on her own terms, which is why she travels to Atlanta to ‘let loose’ away from prying eyes. But, her last trip somehow followed her home in the form of the new police chief, a man she thought was left in Atlanta.

As if having him here isn’t enough to cause her grief, his disbelief at her qualifications and his inability to interact with any sort of ‘human feeling’ she’s also got Jared Lewis causing trouble. Son of the county manager, he’s yet to ever receive any punishment and she’s going to remedy that. From having the ‘real’ impressions of Jared, which she shares with his parents “when Jared eventually gets caught doing something awful that lands him in a cell with a roommate named Big Larry, I want you to remember something. People blame the mother for a reason.” She could now honestly tell her family she’d tried.

If you are a fan of Molly Harper – you’ll love Frankie – she’s gutsy, funny as hell and totally lovable – even in her most prickly moments. From her laughing at her mother and her “Disney Princess” approach to anger, to her quiet menace as she quietly explains “Mama always said that if you can’t say anything nice, it’s best to just smile until the murderous urges go away….Well, she doesn’t say it often, Ike. That’s how you end up with witnesses.” She’s also one of those people whose compliments, while well-intentioned are always funny, and her reactions are almost better.

“Frankie tilted her head and stared at Landry for a moment, as if she’d just watched a turtle play Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony on a harmonica.” HOW can you not love that?

Peachy Flippin’ Keen: Southern Eclectic #1.5 by Molly Harper

Title: Peachy Flippin' Keen
Author: Molly Harper
Series: Southern Eclectic #1.5
Also in this series: Sweet Tea and Sympathy
Genre: Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Humor elements, Novella, Romantic Elements, Southern
Published by: Pocket Books
ISBN: 9781501178948
Published on: 9 April, 2018
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 92
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

A prank war erupts in Lake Sackett, Georgia and coroner Frankie McCready has to turn to the gorgeous but surly new sheriff for help in Molly Harper’s newest Southern Eclectic novella, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Amy E. Reichert.

The McCready Family Funeral Home and Bait Shop has crickets running rampant in the store and hot sauce in the Snack Shack’s ketchup bottles. But as the county coroner, Frankie has enough on her plate without worrying about the increasingly mean pranks being played at her family’s business. And the arrival of Sheriff Eric Linden, both devastatingly attractive and painfully taciturn, is enough to push her over the edge.

Linden, who didn’t seem to get the memo about men in uniform and Southern charm, is condescending and cold, revealing absolutely nothing about his past as an Atlanta police officer, while also making Frankie’s job as coroner as difficult as possible. And with the town’s Fourth of July celebration coming up, it’s essential for McCready’s to be cricket-free and in good working order. Strangling the sheriff will make her job even harder. Can Frankie hold off the threats to preserve her own sanity?

With her trademark “clever humor, snark, silliness, and endearing protagonists” (Booklist), Molly Harper invites fans to return to the family they first met in Sweet Tea and Sympathy. Y’all sit down and stay a while, won’t you?

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Molly Harper

Molly Harper is the author of two popular series of paranormal romance, the Half-Moon Hollow series and the Naked Werewolf series. She also writes the Bluegrass ebook series of contemporary romance. A former humor columnist and newspaper reporter, she lives in Kentucky with her family, where she is currently working on the next Southern Eclectic novel.

 

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge