Out with the Ex, In with the New by Sophie Ranald

Out with the Ex, In with the New by Sophie Ranald

Sophie Ranald comes to the blog with her latest, a New-Adult Woman’s Fiction title that is all about finding yourself when the unexpected happens in

Out with the Ex, In with the New

Gemma is 24 and lives at home, but is hoping that will change with her new job and her now 4-year relationship. But, when her boyfriend trumps her news of a new job and the ability to move out of her mother’s house with his own plans to travel, without her but bringing his friend Olivia along, things take an unusual twist. With a new house share in London with a married couple and another single like her, she’s expecting great things – and along with her new job and new outlook, she’s going to put more emphasis on her vlog and see where that leads. Then the totally unexpected (to no one BUT her) letter from the boyfriend arrives, confirming he’s moved on without her – and she’s devastated. Taking to her vlog – she vents – and the vlog takes off.

Gemma was more than a bit naïve and uncertain at first, and a bit star-struck when her vlog took off, with a few nicely placed warnings in actions about the lure and dangers of social media and deciding about motives when one is surrounded by other ‘influensters’ with big followings. Sure, with two boys that are interesting and only one seeming to share her ‘place’ in the vlogosphere, along with the ‘celebrity’ culture that is celebrated (or shot down) with the ‘ever on’ reality bent of the script – it’s going to take far more thought and consideration, and a removal of a bit of her innocence before she actually starts to grow and see potential – the real and the false – in her newly defined life.

Heavily peppered with YouTube culture and references, the perils and alure of social media, and quite a bit of missteps from Gemma – it will take some unexpected events to be thrust in her face before her choices become clearly evident, and besides being a cause celeb for herself, she throws herself into a true cause that she cares about. Again, like Sorry not Sorry the promise of “laugh out loud” was a bit overstated, and this felt more chick lit than rom com – even with the happy for now ending.

Out with the Ex, In with the New by Sophie Ranald

Title: Out with the Ex, In with the New
Author: Sophie Ranald
Genre: Contemporary Woman's Fiction, New Adult - Coming of Age, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Sociological Relevancy
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 1546787593
Published on: 3 December, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 394
Audio Length: 10 Hours: 47 minutes
Rated: three-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo GoogleAudible
See this Title on Goodreads

You know when you sleep through your alarm, trip over running for the bus, and then someone points out that your dress is stuck into your hotdog-print knickers? That’s basically my life right now.

Gemma didn’t expect her life to look like this. She’s still living with her mother, who steals her leggings and tells her off for leaving crumbs in the butter. After twenty failed interviews she thought she’d bagged her dream job as a journalist – except it turns out to be writing articles about cats that look like George Clooney. Luckily she has her wonderful boyfriend, Jack, to help her forget just how rubbish things are.

Then Jack dumps her out of the blue. With nothing but her childhood teddy bear, Stanley, and a whole heap of heartbreak, Gemma resolves to turn things around. She throws herself into her new job and soon she’s hanging out with cheeky, golden-haired hunk Charlie, eating in swanky restaurants and sipping trendy cocktails – and her old life seems like a distant memory.

But it’s not long until her shiny new world starts to lose its sparkle – and Gemma misses the days of wearing battered pink converse and eating peanut butter on toast in bed. Then Jack turns up, backpack in tow, and things starts to go wrong with Charlie. ‘Out with the old, in with the new’, the saying goes. But what happens if neither one is quite right?

This laugh-out-loud romantic comedy is for anyone who’s ever cried their eyes out to love songs after a break-up or accidentally drunk-texted their ex. Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk will love this unmissable read which is all about falling in love with the most important person: yourself!

This book was previously published as the Truth About Gemma Grey.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Sophie Ranald

Sophie Ranald is the youngest of five sisters. She was born in Zimbabwe and lived in South Africa until an acute case of itchy feet brought her to London in her mid-20s.

As an editor for a customer publishing agency, Sophie developed her fiction-writing skills describing holidays to places she’d never visited. In 2011, she decided to disregard all the good advice given to aspiring novelists and attempt to write full-time. After one false start, It Would Be Wrong to Steal My Sister’s Boyfriend (Wouldn’t It?) seemed to write itself.

Sophie also writes for magazines and the web about food, fashion and running. She lives in south-east London with her amazing partner Hopi and Purrs, their adorable little cat.

 

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.