The Orphan’s Daughter by Sandy Taylor

The Orphan's Daughter by Sandy Taylor

Sandy Taylor comes to the blog with a lovely story of family and friendship in

The Orphan’s Daughter

The Orphan’s Daughter by Sandy Taylor @Bookouture #Historic #Ireleand #ComingofAge @SandyTaylorAuth https://wp.me/p3OmRo-aCd

The book starts when Nora and Kitty are thirteen, best friends and have slipped through a hole in the fence to the grounds of Bretton Hall, the big house in their little rural corner of County Cork. The two are gossiping and mimicking the attendees to a funeral procession, and in breaking in to be closer to the place they both hope to work in the future, they meet Edward, the groom’s son. Full of adventure and a bit of the forbidden, the three see the walled garden, learn about the plants from Edward, and the first bonds of a lasting friendship will be sown.

But the girls have been told, frequently, to stay away from the big house: Nora’s mother was once employed there and refuses to talk about that time. Yet the friendship between Nora and Eddie strengthens, much to everyone’s dismay. With growth and upheaval, it’s soon up to Nora to make choices between her friends and family, while still not completely understanding all of the possible ramifications.

Oh this was lovely and fully of “it’s time” as there is an undercurrent of innocence and purity that seems to thread through even the most trying of situations. From Nora and Kitty and their friendship, to the true bond that she and Eddie form, all the way through to her own relationship with her family and some secrets that they reveal, the story is touching, clever and feels utterly plausible. There is plenty of atmosphere, as Taylor’s prose takes on the feel of the Irish Storyteller at the pub – allowing the moments to stand alone and be unique before other elements are coming into play. A lovely story that brings the place and people forward while allowing the reader to escape into the pages and stories.

The Orphan’s Daughter by Sandy Taylor

Title: The Girl from Paradise Alley
Author: Sandy Taylor
Genre: British, Coming of Age, Edwardian, Family Saga, Friendship, Historic Elements, Historical Fiction, Humor elements, Romantic Elements, Setting: Ireland, Woman's Fiction
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 1786819082
Published on: 5 February, 2020
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 314
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo IndieBound Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Ireland, 1924.

For thirteen-year-old Nora Doyle every day is a fight for survival. In the rural Irish village she calls home, she is no stranger to funerals or feeling the cold wind blowing through the windows of the small cottage where she lives with her family. Somehow Nora manages to keep smiling, but she longs to escape the poverty surrounding her.

One day, Nora’s life changes when her sense of adventure leads her and her best friend, Kitty, through a hole in the wall of the huge house on the top of the hill. In the secluded, carefully tended garden they discover on the other side, Nora and Kitty meet Edward, the young boy who lives there, and they instantly form a strong bond.

Soon Nora is spending every moment she can spare in the secret garden. But in escaping from her life in the village, Nora is going against the wishes of her family, who have forbidden any contact with the big house. Because Edward holds the key to a family secret that will change Nora’s life forever, and force her to make an impossible choice between her family and her future…

A heart-wrenching story of love, loss and the power of friendship during unimaginable hardship. This book is perfect for fans of Orphan Train and The Girl With No Name.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Sandy Taylor

Sandy Taylor grew up on a council estate near Brighton. There were no books in the house, so Sandy’s love of the written word was nurtured in the little local library. Leaving school at fifteen, Sandy worked in a series of factories before landing a job at Butlins in Minehead. This career change led her to becoming a singer, a stand up comic and eventually a playwright and novelist.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.