The One Saving Grace by Julie Houston

The One Saving Grace by Julie Houston

Julie Houston comes to the blog with a contemporary woman’s fiction, this one again focused on the lives of Harriet and Grace, their families and friendship in

The One Saving Grace

I’ll be honest in that I read this before the ‘introduction’ story to Grace and Harriet, but that didn’t make much difference in the grand scheme- the friendship, the humor and the missteps and mistakes were clearly outlined and the stories didn’t suffer from lack of information. What did come into play here, however, was the portrayal of two women who have lost their way, and perhaps a bit of themselves and good sense along the way. While Grace, with a severe case (and honest descriptions) of her post-natal depression and the hopelessness that came to stand over her making even the simplest tasks too much to bear, had an actual and understandable reason for her behaviors, Harriet’s missteps and deliberate dissembling to act a fool with Alex were not engaging any empathy, nor did she feel like anything more than a teen in a crush.

That’s probably a spoiler of sorts – this story contains Harriet’s adultery, her guilt and the actual ‘wager’ that was the impetus for Alex coming on to her so strongly – and her putting everything aside – friends, children, household work – you name it – to enjoy her moments when she thought and believed that Alex wanted her for more – all while her husband Nick is flying hither, thither and yon with the new, growing and very successful business.

I don’t see the “hilarious’ comments here – even though moments were funny and the opening scene was hilarious -but this felt more like a tale of all that could go wrong when life throws those curves and you can’t seem to dig out. Or, in Harriet’s case, don’t want to dig out. The story did give a solid sense of post-natal depression with Grace, however, and her wanting a baby for so long only to find herself gripped in that malaise of hopelessness was really well done and her progress did manage to save me from too much of Harriet’s stupidity. If I weren’t being kind I would say, with all the help and support, that Harriet’s leap into another man’s bed was more a fact of her having too much time to herself, far more than a mother of five with new-ish twins should have, and failing to realize what everyone on the face of the earth saw in Nick’s love for her. I’m more than torn with this – as I despise adultery and Harriet didn’t give me any real ‘reason’ why she’d actually stray – (hint – boredom doesn’t cut it), and her part in the book was substantial.

The One Saving Grace by Julie Houston

Title: The One Saving Grace
Author: Julie Houston
Genre: Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Depression, Family Saga, Humor elements, Setting: Britain
Published by: Aria
ISBN: 9781789542257
Published on: 19 February, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 429
Rated: three-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

When Harriet Westmoreland goes into labour with twins in Harvey Nichol's men's underwear department at exactly the moment she sets eyes on Alex Hamilton, it marks the start of a year of madness - for her, her family and, at times, it seems most of the West Yorkshire village of Midhope.

Giving birth only two months after Harriet, her lifelong best friend Grace has her own craziness to contend with. As both women hurtle down unexpected and very different paths, they flounder in a maelstrom of passion and confusion, perilously clinging on as the chain of events threatens not only their comfortable, ordinary lives but also their very existence...

Warm, witty and wonderful, the unputdownable bestseller from Julie Houston is perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Gervaise Phinn.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Julie Houston

Julie Houston is the author of The One Saving Grace, Goodness, Grace and Me, Looking for Lucy and A Village Affair, a Kindle top 100 general bestseller and a Kindle Number 1 bestseller. She is married, with two teenage children and a mad cockerpoo and, like her heroine, lives in a West Yorkshire village. She is also a teacher and a magistrate.

 

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.