For Once in My Life by Colleen Coleman

For Once in My Life by Colleen Coleman

Colleen Coleman comes to the blog with a story of second chances: at a career, love and life in

For Once in My Life

Starting on Lily’s wedding day which didn’t quite turn out as planned, Lily is working her way through life: existing, not living. She loves her job as the lifestyles and human interest reporter for the local paper, even if her boss is constantly putting her down and has turned their little office into a warzone – where people ‘barely’ work and the paper is more adverts than news. Readership has plummeted since the new boss, and it is obvious that the paper is in major trouble. An email announces the arrival of corporate bigwigs, and the boss simply walks out. Leaving Lily as the only person in the room who seems to care about the paper.

Despite all intentions that corporate had to close the paper immediately, they did bring in a consultant and set goals- increase readership by 22% in four weeks, add digital content and provide a newspaper that locals WANT to read, and the paper will survive. Lily is excited for the task, and the fact that the owner of the whole shebang complimented her writing and grasp of what the readers wanted. So, in a rather uneasy (at first) collaboration with Christopher, the consultant. He’s also aware that along with Lily, his hard work for the company in a prestigious internship program is also being tested – and he’s full of ideas and options.

Clever and funny with some moments of true trial with her mother, Lily is a solid character who needed the boost of confidence the changes at the paper, and her coworkers’ confidence in her all help her to ‘dream bigger’ and think on her feet. Taking chances and challenges in hand, the only hesitation for her is the connection she feels with Christopher. Feeling very organic and natural, with plenty of laughs and characters that sing from the pages, the story is an easy, fun and engaging read.

For Once in My Life by Colleen Coleman

Title: For Once in My Life
Author: Colleen Coleman
Genre: British, Contemporary Romantic Comedy, Family Saga, Friendship, Humor elements, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Setting: Britain
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 1786814951
Published on: 20 November, 2018
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 262
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Twenty-nine-year-old Lily Buckley planned to be happily married and in her dream job by now. Instead she’s been single since being left at the altar three years ago, and works at her local paper, writing about giant vegetables at the village fete and a dog who looks exactly like Chewbacca.

Not quite what she was dreaming of.

So when Lily’s given the opportunity to write her own column it’s exactly what she’s always wanted – except what she has to write about. She has to do one thing every week that scares her.

With encouragement from sexy colleague – and adrenalin-junkie – Christopher, Lily agrees. From sky-diving to haunted houses, Lily is going to be pushed to her limit. But Lily is hiding something – the thing that she fears the most of all…

Ever since her heart was broken Lily has been afraid of falling in love again. Will fear hold her back once more – or can Christopher help her to finally find happiness?

An uplifting, feel-good story about friendship, romance, and finding the hero inside yourself. Fans of Marian Keyes, Mhairi Macfarlane and Sophie Kinsella will love Colleen Coleman!

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.