That Night in Paris: Holiday Romance #2 by Sandy Barker

That Night in Paris: Holiday Romance #2 by Sandy Barker

Sandy Barker comes to the blog with the second in her Holiday Romance series – this one a “see Europe via coach tour” in

That Night in Paris

First having met Aussie-born Cat through her sister Sarah’s story (One Summer in Santorini) we travel with the relationship-averse Cat on a last-minute coach tour of Europe, the same tour company her sister had worked for some ten years earlier. But, unlike Sarah, Cat was a bit of a hedgehog: more self-centered and determined to “not accept love’ in her life – her oft-repeated refrain. While leaving the security of her flat and yet another ‘romantic complication’, she’s headed out to see the great cities of Europe.

Soon making “bus bestie” friends with a woman from Vancouver, Cat and Lou quickly discover that they are simpatico – and there’s not much more time that passes in the trek from London to the “campsite” out-outside of Paris where they’ll stay for two nights. Plenty of sights and moments highlight the first leg of the trip- the biggest highlight coming in the form of Cat running into (with the help of one of her new travel companions) Jean Luc, a foreign exchange student from when they were both in their teens some twenty years earlier. Best friends until Cat broke off the correspondence when her then boyfriend pulled a jealous fit, she’d not considered the chance, and the sparks and emotions between the two are as if they had never parted.

Back and forth we go, as Cat tries to deny her belief in and desire for love, so often does she claim this that one is unsure about who she is determined to convince. And fortunately, her new little gang of five doesn’t believe her either. From dealing with everyone’s own little issues, to meeting up with Jean Luc repeatedly, the scenery and some serious self-examination from Cat, the story is travel, sights, some foody moments and plenty of self-examination with a dash of guilt as the story brings us to an end – one filled with friendships new and old, family and plenty of heart. Light, easy to read and picking out some great tips for seeing the best stuff in Europe as you manage your time with ‘organized’ tours and fend for yourself – the story was a great escape from the ‘locked in and isolate’ environment of the day.

That Night in Paris: Holiday Romance #2 by Sandy Barker

Title: That Night in Paris
Author: Sandy Barker
Series: Holiday Romance #2
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Friendship, Holiday Themed, Humor elements, Second Chance
Published by: One More Chapter
ISBN: 0008362831
Published on: 15 April, 2020
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 400
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble Kobo IndieBound GoogleDirect from Publisher
See this Title on Goodreads

Note to self: don’t sleep with your flatmate after a curry and three bottles of wine… especially if he’s secretly in love with you and wants you to meet his mum.

Cat Parsons is on the run. She doesn’t do relationships. After ten years of singlehood even the hint of the ‘L’ word is enough to get Cat packing her bags and booking herself onto a two-week holiday.

A European bus tour feels like a stroke of genius to dodge awkward conversations at home. But little does Cat realise that the first stop will be Paris, the city of love itself.

Joined by new friends, Cat has got two weeks, eight countries and a hell of a lot of wine ahead of her. As they discover hidden treasures and the camaraderie of life on the road, will Cat find a new way of looking at love?

Discover the beauty of Europe’s most romantic cities in this uplifting and laugh-out-loud novel for fans of Samantha Parks, Alex Brown and Mandy Baggot

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

2 responses to “That Night in Paris: Holiday Romance #2 by Sandy Barker

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.