Never Wager Against Love: The Kellington Series #3 by Maureen Driscoll

Each one of the books in this series has a focus on one of the 5 Kellington siblings, left without parents when the eldest brother was just 19, this family is unique and close-knit.  Esteemed by society, their actions are often the talk of the tonne, even as few would dare cross them to their face.

When he was a younger man, he saved a gypsy woman from a group of local boys who were threatening her.  As payment, the woman read his fortune: when he heard that his love would be shot and he would be too late, he decided that it was better to not love.  Still reeling from the loss of his parents, this decision to not attach is at the root of his wandering and often casual approach to life.

While at a house party at Lizzie’s soon to be husband’s family home, Arthur runs across a singular beauty, who wants nothing to do with him, much to his displeasure.  When the lady turns out to be an Agent of the Crown on the tail of two criminals who have absconded with half of a very important coded message from a French spy , Arthur takes off after her.  He had  to “borrow’ one of the horses since Vanessa has taken his Merlin, and the moment at which the two start their adventure together is priceless and funny.

The dialogue and interaction between the two is laced with internal voices talking about why it’s a bad idea to be so attracted.  Arthur is convinced to love Vanessa will endanger her, and Vanessa is not a member of society, in fact she is so far removed from society that she grudgingly has to accept that not all are useless wastrels after having encountered the Kellington family.

Far more provocative than the first two in the series, the usually easy going Arthur has met his match in the fiery Vanessa, causing him to be far more out of his element in how he relates to her, and spending far more time imagining her, propositioning her, and being shot down than ever he could imagine.

Finally, the pieces come together with plenty of twists and a few hair-raising moments of danger, yet Arthur and Vanessa do manage to have their moments with steam as befitting the long (for Arthur) period of arm’s length treatment from Vanessa.  Fans of Regency romances will love this series, with each new installment the quality of the family, the characters and the writing works it’s magic and transports you into the world.  I’m planning a two day hideaway to just re-read all 5 in the series: I can’t think of a better way to spend the time.

Never Wager Against Love: The Kellington Series #3 by Maureen Driscoll

Title: Never Wager Against Love
Author: Maureen Driscoll
Genre: Historical Romance
Published by: Self-Published
Source: Author
Pages: 296
Rated: five-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon
See this Title on Goodreads

Maureen Driscoll’s Kellington novels continue with Arthur’s story, the third book in her Regency romance series.

When Arthur Kellington was fifteen, a Romany fortune teller predicted that his true love would be killed. Since then, he’s resolved to never fall in love. He has no trouble keeping his resolution until he meets Vanessa Gans, an agent with the Home Office who is on the trail of two hardened criminals. As he finds himself falling for her, he must keep his distance emotionally as the only way to protect them both.

Despite her illegitimate birth, Vanessa Gans has worked her way up to being one of the Crown’s finest agents. She’s reluctant to accept Arthur’s help initially because she doesn’t want to place him in danger. Then she realizes her heart is truly at risk because there can be no honorable future between them.

NEVER WAGER AGAINST LOVE is a romantic tale of bravery, sacrifice and love. It contains explicit language.

A copy of this title was provided via Author for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Maureen Driscoll

Maureen Driscoll is an Emmy-nominated writer/producer working in Hollywood. Her credits include THE DISH on the Style Network, JIMMY KIMMEL LIVE and Nickelodeon's BRAINSURGE. NEVER A MISTRESS, NO LONGER A MAID is the first book she wrote in a series of Regency romance novels. It was followed by NEVER MISS A CHANCE, NEVER WAGER AGAINST LOVE, NEVER RUN FROM LOVE and NEVER DENY YOUR HEART. She also wrote the political satire DATING GEORGE CLOONEY, inspired by her decade working on Capitol Hill. She loves hearing from readers and is somewhat hard at work writing the final book in her series.