Lucy’s Book Club for the Lost and Found by Emma Davies

Lucy’s Book Club for the Lost and Found by Emma Davies

Emma Davies comes to the blog today with a lovely romance/woman’s fiction title – sure to please all of the readers and library fans out there! Please read on for my review of

Lucy’s Book Club for the Lost and Found

Every now and then a book jumps out and grabs your attention, demanding you fall in love with the characters, the story and the writing style. Seemingly a story about Lucy, the temporarily in charge librarian with questions about her own career and guilt about not really wanting to teach, as she first thought, she is bringing ideas and making connections in the little library. From a small book club that features some of her library’s regulars, we get to meet the group who will soon become friends, supporting and befriending one another. Lucy has always believed in the power contained within books, and manages to find just the book for the moment – a way she feels she is helping people, her main goal.

Slowly the story builds and we meet Lia, a full-time carer for her mother: Oscar, a newly widowed man and former head of school; Hattie, a single mum with a feisty little girl; and Callum, the youngest son in a family infamous for crass behavior, laying about and little ambition. Each of these characters has a dream (or hope) that something major in their life can come true, or a wish left unfulfilled. Slowly each person’s tale is revealed as Callum’s ability to explain computer programmes to other patrons at the library helps to build his confidence, and Lucy’s friendship and openness start to give him hope that his life does not have to follow that of his parents and brothers. Oscar, a 3 day a week visitor misses his wife dearly, and has taken a chance to search for someone lost long ago. Lia, always wanted to dance: her mother and father were ballroom dancers, her mother putting away all ambitions and chances for happiness when her marriage ended, and Lia has subjugated her own dreams and life to care for her these past years. Lastly, Hattie is still reeling from the dissolution of her engagement and the continued resentment her mother seems to hold for a reason she can’t discover.

Davies manages to bring each of these character’s stories to light – slowly revealing inner voices, concerns and growth as we see each character begin to come alive as their stories unfold. Lucy’s is really the last story to come full circle, throughout the story she is slowly struggling with her choices as she wavers between feeling useless when connections and questions she has don’t seem to be coming out ‘right’ and her own discomfiture with her lack of interest in teaching – a career supported by her parents. She’s the ‘silver in every cloud’ girl, the one who finds a positive spin and light in every situation, and her good-hearted and honest concern for things to work out for all she encounters, and that hope and desire for things to work out is palpable to readers and characters alike. My first book from Emma Davies, and it most certainly won’t be the last: heart, humor, tears and hope all shine here and make this a favorite read.

Lucy’s Book Club for the Lost and Found by Emma Davies

Title: Lucy's Book Club for the Lost and Found
Author: Emma Davies
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Family Saga, Setting: Britain
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 9781786813213
Published on: 24 November, 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 324
Rated: five-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble Kobo IndieBound Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Sometimes you’ve got to run away to find yourself…

Twenty-four-year-old Lucy needs a fresh start. Forever single, frustrated with her studies and dreaming of writing a novel she can’t start, she gives up everything to run a little library in the leafy village of Tilley Moreton.

Lucy loves reading books almost as much as she loves fixing other people’s problems, so starting a book club seems like the perfect opportunity to do both. As she meets her new members, it’s clear she’s going to have her work cut out for her. Handsome but silent Callum is the biggest puzzle of them all...

But Lucy’s meddling begins to cause more problems than it solves, and she starts to think she should have kept out of everyone’s business. No one is more surprised than Lucy when Callum steps in to help. Could there be more to him than people think?

Callum secretly dreams of escaping his family and starting one of his own. Is Lucy crazy to think she could be the one? When he goes into business with her brother, is it the sign she’s been looking for? Or is he using her to get ahead?

As inspiration for her novel finally begins to flow, will Lucy follow her head, or her heart to find the happy ending she’s been longing for?

An utterly uplifting, emotional page-turner that will bring tears to your eyes and a smile to your face. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Milly Johnson.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Emma Davies

Emma Davies once worked for a design studio where she was asked to provide a fun, humorous, and not necessarily true anecdote about herself for their website. She wrote the following: ‘I am a bestselling novelist currently masquerading as a thirty something mother of three.’ Well the job didn’t work out but she’s now a forty something mother of three and happy to report the rest of her dream came true.

She now lives in rural Shropshire with her husband, three children, and two guinea pigs where she writes full time from a shed in the garden.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

2 responses to “Lucy’s Book Club for the Lost and Found by Emma Davies

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge