Navigate / search

Lost and Found Sisters: Wildstone #1 by Jill Shalvis

Lost and Found Sisters: Wildstone #1 by Jill Shalvis

Jill Shalvis is on the blog today with the first in her new Wildstone Series, a series that is sure to please readers who loved her Heartbreaker Bay series – like me. Please read on for my review of

Lost and Found Sisters

Grief is a quirky emotion, and no two people ever react quite the same. Quinn is one of those who found relief and escape in numbness: after her sister’s death she lost her best friend and nothing has felt right since. And in some sense, she feels guilty about that numbness, for from the outside she has almost everything: her dream job as a sous chef in a trendy LA restaurant, a loving family and a man who is only hoping she’ll open her arms again to him. But, despite all the good – there’s nothing: no celebration, no hope, no real sadness: just an empty hole where her heart should be. And then, the one thing that brought her emotions to the surface for a moment – an inheritance tied to a shocking secret – and she’s curious enough to investigate.

Wildstone is a throwback town, feeling very wild-wild west, a bit run down and the only reason Quinn found it is because of this secret and the inheritance. But Mick left Wildstone in his rear-view mirror as soon as possible. The homegrown boy wanted more and different, and needed to be out from under his father’s thumb. With a successful business in San Francisco he’s not interested in Wildstone or a relationship, but his mother needs his help. With his trusty and totally adorable dog Cooper, he’s been helping his mother out and doing chores long-overdue.

Quinn’s inheritance included part ownership of both a house and the diner in town: but that’s not the tough part. With the unburied secrets, she’s facing a crisis and many questions: so much so that she’s spotted by Mick on the beach in the midst of a panic attack. Of course, the first emotions she feels, really feels in ages is panic – and that just opened a floodgate to feel everything. Quietly the attraction between Quinn and Mick sparks, as he’s patient, quietly accepting and not ready to push her too far or too fast. Here is where Shalvis is at her best: characters that you NEED to know and want to befriend, a connection that sparks off the pages and a series of questions and answers that couldn’t be any more fitting: laughs, tears and serious moments of aww – this is a wonderful introduction to a new series, and another winner from Shalvis.

Lost and Found Sisters: Wildstone #1 by Jill Shalvis

Title: Lost and Found Sisters
Author: Jill Shalvis
Series: Wildstone #1
Genre: Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Romantic Elements, Small Town
Published by: William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN: 0062448129
Published on: 20 June, 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher Via Edelweiss
Pages: 400
Audio Length: 11 Hours: 7 minutes
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo IndieBound Book Depository GoogleAudible

Goodreads


About the Book:

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?
The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher Via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Jill Shalvis

New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill's bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold and visit http://www.jillshalvis.com for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a comment

name*

email* (not published)

website

CommentLuv badge