From London with Love: Rebellious Brides #3 by Diana Quincy

From London with Love: Rebellious Brides #3 by Diana Quincy

Diana Quincy returns today with the third in her Regency Romance Series, Rebellious Brides. Please read on for my review of this clever historic romance mixed with a touch of spy and suspense, perfect for an afternoon read.

From London with Love

Emilia is minutes from the altar when suddenly she finds herself tossed over the shoulder of the one man she did not expect to see on this wedding day, Hamilton Sparrow. The man who jilted her some years earlier at the altar, and who broke her heart. See, while Emilia isn’t head-over-heels in love with her now fiancé, she does wish and expect to marry, does find an attraction in being the wife of a diplomat, and does feel that she is doing the right thing. If her heart is not all in, at least she believes she can trust her soon to be husband.

Hamilton Sparrow was in His Majesty’s service as a spy for years, but an unexpected inheritance of a title meant that he no longer could continue to spy. He’s a guest at Emilia’s wedding (they were betrothed as children) and he notices an assassin he fears is coming for Emilia. So, he does the next best thing, rescues the woman he’d wronged in the past.

This easily could have turned into trite and tired, the rake making attempts to right a wrong he’d done to the innocent woman, realizing his mistake and begging her to take him back. She, still in love with her first, quickly reverting to innocent clichéd female of the time, head full of romantic possibilities and the allure of him foregoing all others due to his abiding love for her. But Quincy managed to leave that aside and take us on a fun romp through the story, adding clues and red herrings to keep our interest as the pair gradually move from polite to friends to love.

While the villain was easy to spot early on, plenty of secondary characters from dubious to upright were introduced as Hamilton unearths the who and why behind the threat to Emilia, even as there were no early indications as to why she, a rather unremarkable young woman from a moneyed family would (or could) be enough of a threat to require her demise.

For her part, although Emilia was innocent and in her way, strong in her own beliefs, she isn’t quick to forget or forgive Hamilton’s jilting, and even less apt to offer him her trust. Their friendship allows her to see the man as he truly is, and he comes to realize that she isn’t the “usual” of her type, and he perhaps didn’t see the advantages of such a woman by his side when he was younger. Gradually the reader untangles the webs of deceit, agendas and the background between our couple, most often as Hamilton himself finds the answers. Clever and quick to read, the story holds interest and is a nice twist on a more traditional romance.

From London with Love: Rebellious Brides #3 by Diana Quincy

Title: From London with Love
Author: Diana Quincy
Series: Rebellious Brides #3
Also in this series: Spy Fall
Genre: Historical Romance, Mystery Elements, Victorian
Published by: Loveswept
ISBN: B01GYPPMLG
Published on: 7 February 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 268
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Emilia St. George is moments away from marrying the admired grandson of a duke when the man who once jilted her decides to kidnap her at the altar. It’s the second time in five years Hamilton Sparrow has ruined her wedding day, and Emilia isn’t about to forgive him. The mere sight of her ex-fiancé revives painful memories—and, most regrettably, aching desires that refuse to be ignored.
Scanning the guests at Emilia’s wedding, Sparrow spots a familiar face: an assassin he recognizes from his days as a spy in France. Whisking Emilia away, he’s pleasantly surprised by her newly formed curves. Could this be the same flame-haired slip of a girl once promised to Sparrow? And does the fop she still insists on marrying realize what a prize she is? True, Sparrow left Emilia at the altar. But he’s afraid that the only way to right that particular wrong is to risk the one thing he’s always guarded: his heart.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Diana Quincy

Diana Quincy is an award-winning former television journalist who decided she'd rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed.

Fans of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas and Sabrina Jeffries will love Diana's Regency world of dashing dukes, irresistible rogues and the headstrong, determined women who capture their hearts. New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes says SEDUCING CHARLOTTE is "Sweet, steamy, and thoroughly enjoyable...Equal parts action, passion and fun."

Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with her husband and two sons. When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge