Navigate / search

The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts by Jennifer Joyce

The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts by Jennifer Joyce

When the world is angst-filled, I look for an escape, and this book from Jennifer Joyce mixes the fun of a rom com with a sweet and endearing chick lit –  toss in a few fairy cakes and other delicious treats and you are in for a wonderful escape. Please read on for my review of

The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts

Maddie has thrown her savings, heart and effort behind her little teashop, slightly off the beaten path of the town center. Baking has always brought her pleasure, from the first successful fairy cake attempt with her Nan when she was a child, through heartbreak and betrayal of her fiancé and best friend. But, even though she’s found her dream job, the teashop is struggling, propped only by her dwindling savings.

But, when inspiration strikes as she notices her father, after a long period of moping and isolating himself from life after her parents divorced, bonding with one of her regular customers over cake and tea, and her new best friend’s desperate attempts to find a “man” an idea is born.

Speed dating with Cakes – you get to meet five different people AND get five different desserts to compensate for this awfulness (ok – my own prejudice) of meeting and conversing with new people. Low pressure, filled with treats – who wouldn’t do this? (well – not me – speed dating is a thing of my worst nightmares as shy as I am).

I don’t know how I missed reading Jennifer Joyce – this story was adorable and a perfect pick me up when the outside world is crazy, and nothing suits better than an escape. Maddie and the secondary characters are wonderful, her connection to her father and difficulties with her mother, and her tendency to occasionally put her foot in her mouth worked beautifully with plenty of moments to laugh, cringe and empathize. With just the right amount of angst (mostly Maddie’s own cringe-worthy moments) and an ending that brought the whole story happy smiles, this is a wonderful read, and fits right in with my own Brit-chick-lit obsession.

The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts by Jennifer Joyce

Title: The Little Teashop of Broken Hearts
Author: Jennifer Joyce
Genre: British, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Food / Recipes, Humor elements, Romantic Elements
Published by: Harper Collins UK, HQ Digital
Published on: 8 February, 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 238
Rated: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google

Goodreads


About the Book:

A deliciously charming romance, perfect for fans of Caroline Roberts, Jane Linfoot and Debbie Johnson.

From fairy cakes to first dates!

Maddie Lamington’s dreams are crumbling around her. If she doesn’t come up with a plan to save her little teashop on Sweet Street soon, it might be too late…
So when she sees how the perfect apple crumble brings together her lonely father and faithful customer Birdie, inspiration strikes: she’ll set up a dating night involving all her sweetest bakes.
Luckily, seriously gorgeous Caleb is on hand to help sprinkle a little magic – and a lot of sugar! Could one night of scrumptious first dates fix Maddie’s heartbreak and save her beloved teashop, too?

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

And for more fun, be sure to check out Jenn’s website where she shares the writing process for the book and much more! Just no recipe for fairy cakes…. And I need one! I can’t find my own Gran’s recipe. If you have one – please share.

About Jennifer Joyce

Jennifer Joyce is a writer of romantic comedies who lives in Manchester with her husband and two daughters.

I've been scribbling down bits of stories for as long as I can remember, graduating from a pen to a typewriter and then an electronic typewriter. And I felt like the bee's knees typing on THAT. I now write my books on a laptop (which has a proper delete button and everything).

 

 

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a comment

name*

email* (not published)

website

CommentLuv badge