The Little Book Café: Emma’s Story by Georgia Hill

The Little Book Café: Emma’s Story by Georgia Hill

Georgia Hill brings the second installment in the Little Book Café series, this one is focused on Emma, local girl with an obsession with Poldark in

The Little Book Café: Emma’s Story

Emma is a local girl who can’t wait to get out of her parent’s house: she loves them dearly but the only way for her to escape the noise and chaos is to disappear into books.  Working at the local estate agents with Tash, she’s making money – but without any qualifications (and having done what many do with school – more focused on making money) she’s feeling stuck. But she’s got some plans – she and Ollie, her long term boyfriend, are saving to buy a place of their own, and finding their place in town – he’s in training with the local sea-rescue service, and consumed with the training, all he is learning, and even though Emma is proud, she’s bored to tears with the never-ending talk about process, training and safety.  But, when a true class about literature is announced, Emma’s curiosity about being ‘more’ and figuring she loves reading so why not. And it doesn’t hurt that the instructor is a drop-dead gorgeous man who seems to zero in on Emma and her bright red hair -inspired by her sudden adoption of “Be More Demelza” motto.

Emma is frustrated with the ‘pace’ of her relationship with Ollie – they’ve been together for years but she’s tired of watching every penny and feeling as if they have nothing in common. He’s not interested in her reading or her fascination with Poldark, and she’s bored to tears with his current obsession about the rescue squad.  And, there’s something so refreshing to see when Joel, the instructor for the literary class seems to seek her out – truly listening to her opinions and thoughts, and making her feel as if her love for reading and books isn’t a step beyond her ability and intelligence.  What Emma doesn’t see however, that most others in the class (who added yet another literary pursuit to their schedule) is that she’s little more than a project for Joel: he’s grooming her in the manner of Pygmalion, and she’s not quite able to reconcile her worries about her relationship with Ollie and the strife at the office with a new “fast tracked trainee’ with an attitude and approach that is wholly stand-offish.

But after a surprise weekend away goes pear shaped, and a close encounter with Joel sets her alarm bells ringing, she’s devastated and worried that this time – she and Ollie are no more.  The local ‘end of season’ parade brings a big of excitement into her life, even as things at the office come to a head with the ‘new girl’ and she’s more discouraged than ever with living at home and no response from Ollie.  When everything blows up in a giant confrontation with Joel and his ‘fiancé’, surprisingly enough the new girl at  work sets her right back to Ollie.  A generous offer from Millie and her husband, as they’ve plans to buy the perfect little house on the outskirts of town has her thinking that she and Ollie could have more – until he’s called out on a rescue in the midst of a blow-up, and she’s left to wonder what was………  A lovely story about redefining your life’s goals and finding the joys in a relationship that allows each person to have interests that will enrich and help them to appreciate one another.

The Little Book Café: Emma’s Story by Georgia Hill

Title: The Little Book Café: Emma’s Story
Author: Georgia Hill
Series: The Little Book Cafe #2
Also in this series: The Little Book Café: Tash’s Story
Genre: British, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Romantic Elements, Setting: Britain, Small Town
Published by: Harper Impulse
ISBN: 9780008281274
Published on: 21 September, 2018
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 100
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Escape to the seaside for a new three-part series for fans of The Canal Boat Cafe and Willow Cottage

When Emma she discovers that Berecombe’s fabulous book café is running a literary course for beginners, she is excited to give it a try. She’s always wanted to study more, and it doesn’t hurt that Joel, the suave and charming new teacher is pretty easy on the eye…

The more she learns, the more she starts to question whether she really wants the life she has built up. Her boyfriend of forever, Ollie, is constantly training with the RNLI, so they hardly get to see each other, and she is pretty sure Joel has a soft spot for her…

Will Joel sweep her off her feet? Or can Ollie make the most important rescue of his life?

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Georgia Hill

Georgia Hill writes rom-coms and historical fiction and is published by Harper Impulse, the digital-first imprint of HarperCollins.

She divides her time between the beautiful counties of Herefordshire and Devon and lives with her two beloved spaniels, a husband (also beloved) and a ghost called Zoe. She loves Jane Austen, eats far too much Belgian chocolate and has a passion for Strictly Come Dancing.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.