The House at Hope Corner by Emma Davies

The House at Hope Corner by Emma Davies

Emma Davies returns to the blog today with a new contemporary title, full of heart, changes, and hope in

The House at Hope Corner

It took me about eight chapters before my brain kicked in and informed me that the reason I was loving the book to that point was the author has penned one of my favorite series. (Insert *headdesk* moment here!) And, they are surprisingly similar in feel: with huge changes coming to everyone. But, this book was uniquely lovely as we follow the story of Flora and Ned, her soon-to-be in laws Hannah and Fraser, and just how she’s going to fit into this remote, yet wholly gorgeous dairy farm and little community. Flora is a bit of an eccentric – her flower shop has been struggling for the past few years, and she’d finally decided to sell up and start something new, possibly with her artwork and printmaking when a man walked through the door. Utterly stunned, Ned and Flora found a connection between them, one that can’t be ignored, and soon he’s asked her to marry him and come to Hope Corner and start their life together.

A gorgeous series of fields now hosting a rather chill wind only seems to match the ‘reserve’ shown Flora by Ned’s parents, along with a long list of “how things are done” and the obvious fact that while she and Ned care for one another, they also don’t know much about each other. We all know that you never really ‘know’ a person until you are always together, and their whirlwind romance, while none really doubt their feelings are authentic, has shaken the foundations a bit. Then you add in Flora’s bright clothing, her artistic bent, and her ability to drift off with the faeries when her imagination is let loose in the wild and things are tough. Add in the neighbor Caroline who isn’t quite the “friendly person” she is making out to be, and the savior of all Flora’s insecure moments in Grace, and she’s finding a way to exist, even though she has a secret.

But, it’s apparent that Ned has secrets too, and that the farm isn’t pushing forward but more tottering along: money is tight, Hannah is allergic to change, and Flora is just trying to fit in. Yet it is a horrible thing when change is forced upon you, as Fraser’s heart attack and bypass do, and we see Flora doing all she can to keep things moving forward while Ned works all hours and Hannah is motoring through on autopilot. The uncovering of items hidden in a rarely-used room, the unmasking of Caroline as a selfish and self-serving person, and Flora’s determination and unique ideas to ‘save’ them from themselves brings the story around to new starts and hope for all, with plenty of heart, understanding, friendship and smiles to go round. Again, Davies has created a story that drags you into the setting, with characters you want to befriend, descriptions that create imagery, and, best of all, the uncovering of hope and happy times to come.

The House at Hope Corner by Emma Davies

Title: The House at Hope Corner
Author: Emma Davies
Genre: British, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Friendship, Humor elements, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Setting: Britain, Small Town
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 9781786818423
Published on: 10 May, 2019
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 250
Rated: five-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

The view across the valley takes her breath away; everywhere she looks tiny patches of colour – ochre, chestnut, lime and purple. The farmhouse behind her glows pink in the morning sun. It’s like stepping into a postcard, except that this magical place is real. It’s her new home.

With her beloved shop in danger of shutting down, meeting Ned, a gorgeous farmer with an irresistible twinkle in his eye, couldn’t have come at a better moment for free-spirited florist, Flora Dunbar. But no one is more surprised than her when their whirlwind romance leads to the offer of a new life on Ned’s farm.

Arriving at Hope Corner, Flora sets about becoming the perfect farmer’s wife, but her creative, alternative thinking falls flat in a household built on tradition and strict routine. Even Ned is becoming more distant by the day…

Pulling up her signature striped socks and throwing herself into her chores, little by little Flora learns to love the order and patterns of life on the land. But the more she learns about her new home, the more she suspects it’s under threat, and worse, that Ned is hiding a heartbreaking secret from her.

But this time, Flora’s not going to run from her problems. Do Ned and his family trust her enough to let her stay and fight for love and the first house she’s ever truly called home? Does she trust herself?

An absolutely gorgeous and utterly uplifting romance to sweep you off your feet! Perfect reading for fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Debbie Johnson.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Emma Davies

Emma Davies once worked for a design studio where she was asked to provide a fun, humorous, and not necessarily true anecdote about herself for their website. She wrote the following: ‘I am a bestselling novelist currently masquerading as a thirty something mother of three.’ Well the job didn’t work out but she’s now a forty something mother of three and happy to report the rest of her dream came true.

She now lives in rural Shropshire with her husband, three children, and two guinea pigs where she writes full time from a shed in the garden.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.