The House on Firefly Beach: Firefly Beach #2 by Jenny Hale

The House on Firefly Beach: Firefly Beach #2 by Jenny Hale

Jenny Hale comes to the blog with the second in her Firefly Beach series, where Sydney and her young son Robby are finding their next chapter in

The House on Firefly Beach

Still reeling from the loss of her aunt Clara, and helping Uncle Hank with his depression while trying to find her ‘next chapter’, Sydney is thrown into tumult when she comes face to face with Nate, the boy who left without a word or explanation many years ago. He’s in town staying with her best friend and his sister Mallory, with a supermodel in tow, to attend Hallie’s wedding. And Sydney has no interest in hearing anything he has to say after making a name for himself in songwriting.

There’s so much to unpack with this story: from the struggles with grief and unfinished business between Nate and Sydney, Sydney’s lack of confidence in her own abilities, her desperation to protect her son from getting hurt, the questions continue to arrive and haunt her. Slowly but surely opportunities arrive for Syd, opportunities that she dives into with both feet – and succeeds. Despite her own fears about not being ‘enough’, while the question about Nate leaving so many years ago linger.

With heart and plenty of time, some obsessions from Sydney and several grand gestures from Nate that show his heart, and the explanations of why he left all those years ago, the story is easy to follow and you’ll find yourself invested in their story and relationship, all the while hoping Sydney will see what’s in front of her. Often. Hale manages to provide a sense of reality and plausibility for the many issues that arise from grief and anger, to self-esteem that’s been dinged, and even the desire to protect and provide for her son. With heart, a threat that is bigger than them all to the cottage where memories have provided the touchstone for the family and lots of love and acceptance, the story is a great read and sure to please many.

The House on Firefly Beach: Firefly Beach #2 by Jenny Hale

Title: The House on Firefly Beach
Author: Jenny Hale
Series: Firefly Beach #2
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Family Saga, Friendship, Grief, Second Chance
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 9781786817310
Published on: 5 June, 2020
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 222
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Nothing beats falling in love under the sun, with the sand beneath your feet. This gorgeous, feel-good, and heartwarming summer escape from the bestselling author of The Summer House is perfect for fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Susan Mallery and Nancy Thayer.

For Sydney Flynn, her treasured family home, Starlight Cottage, is her sanctuary. The house on the beach, surrounded by glittering turquoise waters, is the perfect place for her fresh start, piecing her life back together after it fell apart. That’s until her knees almost buckle at the sight of Nate Henderson.

As teenagers, Sydney and Nate spent their summers whispering sweet nothings and promising “forever” to each other. Sydney never imagined that her childhood sweetheart was going to break her heart, driving away from her and Firefly Beach, never looking back.

Now, when Sydney spots him at her sister’s wedding, their eyes meeting across the rows of guests, she barely recognizes him. The down-to-earth son of a fisherman, forever in beach t-shirts and flip flops, is replaced with a successful songwriter in a designer suit, a superstar in the country music scene. Yet despite everything, his dazzling blue eyes and easy smile stir up all the feelings she thought she’d left behind.

Nate is back to make it up to Sydney, but can she forgive him for all the heartbreak he caused? And it’s not only about her – Sydney is a single mother to Robby, her whole world, and she won’t let just anyone into their lives. Can she trust that Nate has really changed?

As if worrying about Nate wasn’t enough, a new development threatens Starlight Cottage, the safe haven that saved her when she had nothing else. Can Nate and Sydney overcome their past to save Firefly Beach and the house that holds so many memories for them? Or will the town they adore, and the love they have for one another, be lost forever?

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Jenny Hale

When she graduated college, one of Jenny Hale’s friends said “Look out for this one; she’s going to be an author one day!” Despite being an avid reader and a natural storyteller, it wasn’t until that very moment that the idea of writing novels occurred to her.

Sometimes our friends can see the things that we can’t. Whilst she didn’t start straight away, that comment sowed a seed and several years, two children and hundreds of thousands of words later, Jenny finished her first novel, Coming Home for Christmas, which became an instant bestseller.

2 responses to “The House on Firefly Beach: Firefly Beach #2 by Jenny Hale

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.