The Golden Oldies Guesthouse by Dee MacDonald

The Golden Oldies Guesthouse by Dee MacDonald

Dee MacDonald returns to the blog with another installment in the saga that is Tess -now a long way removed from her days on Penny Lane in

The Golden Oldies Guesthouse

We last saw Tess at her daughter’s wedding : where she meets Simon the on-again-off-again actor with a mellifluous voice and charm enough for three. After a bit of a whirlwind courtship and marriage, and remodeling a London flat, the two are on a ‘getaway’ to Simon’s childhood vacation spot in Cornwall. Planning just a ‘fisherman’s cottage’ getaway, the two are soon looking at property that overlooks the town and ocean, the Over and Above it’s called. Soon they’ve sold the London flat, with plans to renovate and repurpose the old house into a luxurious, specialty longer-stay B&B.

From one sportscar that is woefully unequipped for country lane driving, to a campervan dubbed Windsor Castle, the struggle of adapting to “direkly” and the isolation – not to mention the expense and Simon’s rather cavalier attitude toward the costs involved, Tess is masterminding the plans, cajoling the workmen and generally holding down the fort while Simon is, as she has come to learn, charming his way through life and the unpleasant tasks. Again, MacDonald has created two characters who interact exactly as people really do – with the little things being more aggravating and causing more strops than the big ones, and everyone tense and worried about the unknown questions.

Yet soon, they have their first guests – a former publisher, now retired, in Cornwall to be close to his ex and to write a book on smuggling, a woman planning to paint with watercolors for a few weeks following her ‘retirement’, and a faded actress, dressed in clothes more appropriate to her great-grand-daughters with a need for all the attention……. The charm and stories unfold with the usual amounts of tumult, particularly when a couple arrives to “rekindle” their marriage and ends with him leaving in a not-so-gracious way. From finding new friends, reconnecting with family and discovering the ‘actual’ purposes of their guest’s extended visits, the story is a gentle and clever tale of taking the road less traveled on the way to a new start after 60.

The Golden Oldies Guesthouse by Dee MacDonald

Title: The Golden Oldies Guesthouse
Author: Dee MacDonald
Genre: British, Comedic Elements, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Friendship, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Setting: Britain, Small Town
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 1786817306
Published on: 27 August, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 332
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Tess and Simon Sparrow may have a few more grey hairs and wrinkles than they used to, but that doesn’t stop them being swept up in a whirlwind romance and starting over again. Swapping their city lives for an escape to the countryside, they fall in love with a crumbling hotel and impulsively buy it as their forever home to grow old in together…

Renovating the glorious, wisteria-clad property on the gorgeous cliff-tops of Cornwall was meant to be a delightful retirement project. But the dream soon turns into reality and practical Tess and optimist Simon are faced with leaky bathrooms, creaky stairs and a roof that’s just about holding up.

Running out of money fast, the couple decide to rent out a few rooms to save their new home.

Along come mysterious Celia, hapless romantic Benedict and tarnished, lovelorn actress Titania – all looking for a fresh start. Everyone in this eclectic group has their own reasons for being in Cornwall and across the summer they each go on a journey of self-discovery at The Golden Oldies Guesthouse as they realise there is still plenty of time for love, life, friendship… and a few unexpected surprises.

From the bestselling author of The Runaway Wife and The Silver Ladies of Penny Lane, this is a completely uplifting page-turner about embracing new friendships, finding love and making each day count. Perfect for fans of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Dee MacDonald

Aged 18, Dee MacDonald arrived in London from Scotland and typed her way round the West End for a couple of years before joining BOAC (forerunner of British Airways) in Passenger Services for 2 years and then as a stewardess for 8 years.

She has worked in Market Research, Sales and at the Thames TV Studios when they had the franchise.

Dee has since relocated to Cornwall, where she spent 10 years running B&Bs, and only began writing when she was over 70!

Married twice, she has one son and two grandsons.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.