The Ghost Hunter Next Door: Beechwood Harbor Ghost Mystery #1 by Danielle Garrett

The Ghost Hunter Next Door: Beechwood Harbor Ghost Mystery #1 by Danielle Garrett

Danielle Garrett returns to the blog today with the first in a new series spin off, Beechwood Harbor Ghost Mystery that is narrated by Amanda Ronconi

The Ghost Hunter Next Door

Scarlett has recently moved to Beechwood Harbor and opened a flower shop. But for years she has known that she can speak to ghosts – and it’s taken her almost that long to find her own place and decide what she wants. She’s decided that ‘schedules’ will help save her the constant interruptions from the calls from “beyond’, and opens herself up one night a week to listen to the dead: their worries, their complaints and their secrets. She’s never wholly alone though, her first ghostly companion is an Englishman who has been around for years, and she’s got her cat – plenty of company for this young woman trying to find a place. But, a local ghost who seems to be part TMZ and part mischievous has found them due to Scarlett’s once-weekly sessions, and she soon becomes a solid source of information. Of course, Scarlett has this ability – and while a television show is busy renovating an old Victorian in town, she’s given a deadline to halt production and move people on. Apparently the house is the scene of an old murder, and no one knows whatever happened to Rosie, or why.

The delivery of the warning comes from a particularly nasty ghost opening up both questions and perhaps a threat in the form of a poltergeist that threatens the workers on the television show, and perhaps could be expanding his territory. Scarlett is a wonderful character and finding a place in Beechwood Harbor, which seems to welcome all sorts of paranormal entities could be just what she needs in her life. But the mystery of Rosie’s disappearance in the old Victorian is one that needs solving – and with the help of her ghostly companions, a security guard named Lucas and meeting the townsfolk. This is setting up to be a wonderfully fun and escapist series, with characters that recur and are introduced to all give a flavor of the town and more than a few laughs.

Amanda Ronconi provides the narration for this story and she becomes Scarlett with her portrayal, allowing her secrets, worries and moments to laugh to come clearly forward as the story unfolds. Each character is clearly presented and voiced, there aren’t great moments of overwork and the rather easy-going attitude that comes forward with all of Scarlett’s voice feel natural and are easy to follow. A wonderful start to a new series that fans of this author’s writing, or who enjoy a more relaxed and quirky kind of cozy that doesn’t get overly complex will enjoy.

Stars: Overall 4 Narration 5 Story 4

The Ghost Hunter Next Door: Beechwood Harbor Ghost Mystery #1 by Danielle Garrett

Title: The Ghost Hunter Next Door
Author: Danielle Garrett
Series: Beechwood Harbor Ghost Mystery #1
Genre: Contemporary Mystery, Friendship, Ghosts, Humor elements, Mystery Elements
Narrator: Amanda Ronconi
Published by: Self-Published, Tantor Audio
ISBN: 1976017491
Published on: 26 March, 2019
Format:Audiobook
Source: Tantor Audio
Pages: 222
Audio Length: 6 Hours: 2 minutes
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour IndieBound GoogleAudibleTantor Audio
See this Title on Goodreads

The first rule of being a ghost whisperer: Don’t tell anyone.

Seriously. Don’t.

Sure, it might sound harmless. A fun party trick, even. I assure you, it’s not.

How do I know? Well, let’s just say that I’ve had a lot of experience with this sort of thing, and nine times out of ten, it turns into an all-consuming disaster.

Being plagued by needy ghosts twenty-four/seven is one thing; being harassed by a horde of curious — or worse, grieving — flesh-and-blood people is an entirely different circus. I mean really, who wants to hold an impromptu séance in the middle of the cereal aisle? Not me, and the manager of the grocery store probably isn’t too crazy about the idea, either.

So, that’s it. If you’re a ghost whisperer, just keep your mouth shut and act normal. Ghosts? What ghosts?

Now, if only I would start listening to my own advice …

The Ghost Hunter Next Door is the first book in the Beechwood Harbor Ghost Mystery series. Perfect for fans of Angie Fox and Kristen Painter.

A copy of this title was provided via Tantor Audio for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Danielle Garrett

As a lifelong bookworm, Danielle Garrett has always loved dreaming of fantastic places and the stories they have to share. Through her love of reading, she’s followed along on hundreds of adventures through the eyes of wizards, princesses, elves, and some rather wonderful everyday people as well. This lifelong passion led her into the world of writing and she has now achieved the dream she’s held since the second grade and become an author herself.

Danielle lives in Oregon, and while she travels as often as possible, she wouldn’t call anywhere else home. She shares her life with her husband and their house full of animals.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.