Get a Life, Chloe Brown: The Brown Sisters #1 by Talia Hibbert

Get a Life, Chloe Brown: The Brown Sisters #1 by Talia Hibbert

Talia Hibbert comes to the blog today with the first in her Brown Sister series with

Get a Life, Chloe Brown

You’ve seen the publicity and talk around this book – and I’m going to tell you that every bit of it is completely spot on. Yes, this book was a favorite – from the characters, to Hibbert’s dealing with a chronic pain issue, past disappointments, isolation, subtle and not so subtle jabs at confidence, self-determination and, above all, finding a way through it all. Chloe and her sisters are a breath of fresh air: completely different yet bonded and utterly supportive, the story takes Chloe from her isolation into a list that will help her to “get a life’ after finding herself faced with the possibility of her demise, a tragically boring obituary and the need to overcome her fears and the pain she faces every day. Seeing herself as self-reliant and independent isn’t simply a goal – she’s made it her mission, with mixed reactions from all of her family with the exception of one very outrageous and “in your face” grandmother who simply challenges her to ‘do it’.

Moving from her family home to her own garden-level apartment in a non-descript block, far different from her life to this point, it’s not just her posh accent and rather sharp manner that differentiates her from her neighbors and building superintendent, but her need to remain in control of everything – from her managing her pain to designing her client’s websites and internet presence. But the attraction and fascination with Red, the gorgeous man who lives across the courtyard and spends his evenings shirtless and painting, but seems to have a problem with her. They’ve only exchanged a few words – most of them curt, and his dislike of her niggles and hurts – even as she tries to convince herself it doesn’t. There is a story there, and with a few moments where ‘truce’ is declared, she starts to see some of it, and gets more intrigued.

Red was hurt badly by an ex, who brought him and his unique views and paintings into the art world. Relying on her, he didn’t see the truth until it was too late – and he packed up everything and disappeared. He understands losses and people who don’t deserve the friendship offered – particularly to Chloe who was dumped by her boyfriend who didn’t believe her pain and friends who tired of trying to be there. Together, with the help of a ‘found cat’, sisters who don’t quit, a list that included riding a motorcycle, meaningless sex and camping – and with a few hiccups along the way – the two are a wonderful couple – both stridently defensive and supportive of the other, in ways that are sweet, funny, frustrating and ultimately so very right. Hibbert created characters that you want to know – invite them in for a glass (or three) of wine, and just hang out sharing and laughing. Treating Chloe’s illness with a matter-of-fact-this-is-my-life approach, sharing the good and bad, and showing that Red, despite his being ‘strong and macho’ is able and willing to ask for help and learn to change – all for the better. Nothing will keep these two down for long, despite some truly horrible circumstances, and the hope and love from all corners flies in and demands that readers pay attention and feel for the characters as deeply as they feel themselves – adding a level of emotional impact to a story that celebrates the human in us all – no matter the ‘outer wrappings’ with which they are judged daily.

Get a Life, Chloe Brown: The Brown Sisters #1 by Talia Hibbert

Title: Get a Life Chloe Brown
Author: Talia Hibbert
Series: The Brown Sisters #1
Genre: British, Contemporary Romantic Comedy, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Friendship, Humor elements, Interracial, Multi-Cultural, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Setting: Britain
Published by: Avon
ISBN: 0062941224
Published on: 5 November, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Avon Addict, Publisher Via Edelweiss
Pages: 384
Audio Length: 10 Hours: 17 minutes
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour IndieBound GoogleAudibleDirect from Publisher
See this Title on Goodreads

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.
Ride a motorcycle.
Go camping.
Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
And... do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

A copy of this title was provided via Avon Addict, Publisher Via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.