Five Wakes and a Wedding by Karen Ross

Five Wakes and a Wedding by Karen Ross

Karen Ross comes to the blog today with a funny and clever story, feeling much like the film Four Weddings and a Funeral with

Five Wakes and a Wedding

A fun writing style that is very approachable, with characters that feel familiar (if occasionally a bit over the top) the story has a lovely sense of self, while not being too overly self-important. Nina is a funeral director and has decided she wants to open her own shop. She’s facing many battles with this, however, as the neighborhood business owners don’t feel she’s got the ‘right fit’ for the little community they are trying to build, and with her first funeral being a huge public disaster (and a hoax) she’s running on empty.

Barclay is a bit over the top -and often is much too much for the room, but he and Nina hit it off in ways highly unexpected. If you think of a prankster who is charming but wholly immature – you get a taste of him.  Of course, death is handled with some great moments of delicacy, and the whole “racket” of funeral preparations and providers are put under some scrutiny as we follow Nina and her choices, dilemmas and challenges.

Overall, this was an unexpected read with plenty of funny moments, some over the top antics, and a bit of whinging from Nina that balanced out by the end (fortunately) and was all saved with the prose style and flair displayed by Ross. It did feel much like other titles that are “about death but not really”, and left me with a smile, even as I wondered just how to categorize the read.  What I will say is that it was a quick read and I look forward to more from this author – particularly her sly inserts of humor that danced with a darker theme but remained aware of the moments and didn’t descend into slapstick.

Five Wakes and a Wedding by Karen Ross

Title: Five Wakes and a Wedding
Author: Karen Ross
Genre: Contemporary Romantic Comedy, Contemporary Woman's Fiction
Published by: Avon Books UK
ISBN: 0008354359
Published on: 22 July, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 400
Rated: three-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo GoogleDirect from Publisher
See this Title on Goodreads

Undertaker Nina Sherwood is full of good advice. For example, never wear lip gloss when you’re scattering ashes.

Nina is your average 30-year-old with a steady job, a nice home – and dead bodies in her basement. As an undertaker, she often prefers the company of the dead to the living – they’re obliging, good listeners and take secrets to the grave.

Nina is on a one-woman mission to persuade her peers that passing on is just another part of life. But the residents of Primrose Hill are adamant that a funeral parlour is the last thing they need… and they will stop at nothing to close down her dearly beloved shop.

When Nina’s ‘big break’ funeral turns out to be a prank, it seems like it’s the final nail in the coffin for her new business. That is, until a (tall, dark and) mysterious investor shows up out of the blue, and she decides to take a leap of faith.

Because, after all, it’s her funeral…

The perfect antidote to all those books about weddings, this book will make you laugh until you cry, perfect for fans of Zara Stoneley’s Bridesmaids, Four Weddings and a Funeral and The Good Place.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.