Falling Fast: Falling Fast # 1 by Tina Wainscott

Falling Fast: Falling Fast # 1 by Tina Wainscott

Welcome to my review of  a new title from author Tina Wainscott.  Please be sure to read the excerpt, don’t forget to check out the tour stops  to see what others thought of the book, and be sure to enter the tour-wide giveaway where you could win a Loveswept Mug, Flirt Mug and a Select Ebook Bundle.

Falling Fast

A second chance at romance is the premise of this story: a car accident had left Mia, a wealthy teen visiting the area for the summer, disfigured.  Raleigh is the boy from the wrong side of the tracks: never quite enough, and certainly not right for the girl whose life he ruined.

The premise is a good one: there is a solid redemption / growth trajectory for both of the characters, from both the accident and its aftermath and their own lives. Despite having everything, Mia has lived with cancer for years. Raleigh had a drunk and abusive father that led him to leave home at 15.  Neither one has, since that summer before the accident, had a relationship that felt so ‘right’.

The potential for a lovely story, gripping and emotional, with plenty of back and forth was high.  Insets/flashbacks from that first summer would have added to the depth and draw.  All of this was flattened in the arc and pacing.  With easy forgiveness of Raleigh from Mia, the story had no poll: there was no real groveling or amends made stretching my suspension of disbelief beyond the breaking point. Then, add to that odd choice, the pacing that is painfully slow as they are thrown together because of a joint bequest.  I just had real problems getting into the story as it unfolded and progressed, and the lack of my ability to believe in the storyline had me frustrated more often than not.

Characters were portrayed with a decent amount of depth and interest, and their backstories (particularly Raleigh’s) were full of emotional moments without delving into pathos.  I expected a bit more drama and angst, but it was, again, flattened by the odd plotting choices – there should have been more of a lead in to Mia’s forgiveness, and the entire story had me feeling as if she held the power in the relationship without actually understanding or knowing what to do with it.   I’m wondering if the all-too-quick forgiveness will fracture with more time, but only the next book will tell that tale.

Falling Fast: Falling Fast # 1 by Tina Wainscott

Title: Falling Fast
Author: Tina Wainscott
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Published by: Loveswept
ISBN: 1101885785
Published on: June 16th 2015
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 268
Rated: three-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour
See this Title on Goodreads

Fans of Jasinda Wilder and Colleen Hoover will adore this emotional new small-town romance—a smoldering tale of first love and long-awaited redemption from USA Today bestselling author Tina Wainscott.

Raleigh West works in an auto shop day and night, trying to put his broken past out of mind. It’s been seven years since the fiery crash that landed his teenage sweetheart in the hospital . . . and him in jail. In an instant, he lost everything: his passion for racing, his hope of escaping his father’s shameful legacy, and the only girl he ever loved. Raleigh hasn’t seen her since that awful night. Never got a chance to apologize. And never forgave himself, either.

When brave, beautiful Mia Wentworth returns to the Florida coast for the first time in what seems like forever, it’s not to see Raleigh. Even so, the moment she arrives she can feel his presence like a gust of wind that gives her goose bumps. Opening her heart to him again seems impossible. But staying away? That might be harder still. Lucky for them both, Mia’s never been the kind of woman to take the easy way out.

See the Falling Fast Series on GoodReads

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Tasty Excerpt

 

Raleigh looked up, and his eyes softened in a way she knew, and felt, right down to her bones. He didn’t smile, but he stood, his body tensing as he took in her approach. Friendly or hostile? He was no doubt trying to figure it out. She tried to smile, to let him know that she wasn’t here to yell at him, but her face felt frozen. Paralyzed. Hell, was she going to freeze up again?

She tried to utter a greeting, but her dry throat prevented the words from emerging. She waved instead.

Raleigh stepped out from behind the stone, coming toward her. His eyes hungrily roamed over her, skipping from her face down her body, then quickly back again. Not lustily but as if sating a deep thirst. And there, beneath the question in his eyes, lay a hint of a smile. Suddenly she was transported back to that first time she’d gone into the garage just to see him. To ask him more about the races. He’d looked both pleased and surprised.

“Mia,” he said, her name loaded with more than she could interpret.

For a moment, she forgot about the scars that would be visible in the bright sunlight. She forgot to breathe. “Raleigh,” she said. She thought she was smiling, but it might look more like a grimace. Gawd, get hold of yourself. You’re just here to let him know you don’t hate him. “I—”

“Mia! We have to go!” Her mother’s voice pounded harshly from behind her.

Mia turned, spotting her mother duck-walking over in spiked heels that kept sinking into the earth, hands fisted at her sides. She turned back to Raleigh. “I just wanted to say . . . I don’t —”

“Mia,” her mother ground out.

“Blame you,” Mia managed, and quickly walked toward her mother, not wanting her anywhere near Raleigh. He would probably think she was still that timid seventeen-year-old who was afraid her parents would find out that she was sneaking out at night. But she wanted to protect him from all the angry, imprudent things that would gush from her mother’s mouth.

“What are you doing?” she hissed as Mia hooked her arm through hers and spun her back toward the casket.

“It’s called closure, Mother. The last time we spoke, he’d called to see how I was doing, and I hung up on him.”

“Well, he deserved it,” she shot back, flicking a glance backward.

Mia fought not to do the same. She didn’t want to see what expression he might have. Disgust. Sympathy. Regret. Or, even worse, just dismissal. “No, he didn’t.”

“She was talking to him,” her mother said when they reached her father. “She went to him.”

Mia met her father’s curious and disconcerted expression. “I just wanted him to know I wasn’t angry at him.” Though, dammit, she hadn’t gotten that part out.

“Why do you care what he thinks?” her father asked in his low, emotionless voice.


“Or do you care?” her mother asked. “You’re not still—”


“Of course not.” Even uttering the words in love was preposterous. Mia couldn’t help herself, glancing toward Raleigh. He was kneeling in front of the stone again, but his eyes were on her. “It was just a summer romance. Teenage hormones.”

They seemed gratified by that last declaration, even though it sounded hollow to her ears. “We should go,” her father said, nodding toward the people now milling by the limousine.

Once they reached it, she shot one more look toward Raleigh. She wanted to believe her recent declaration, but she felt exactly like that girl who had fallen fast and hard for the boy who’d made her a woman.

 

 

 

rp_Giveaway-Banner.png

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 

About Tina Wainscott

USA Today bestselling author Tina Wainscott has always loved the combination of romance and suspense, because nothing complements falling in love better than being hunted down. The author of more than thirty novels and novellas, Wainscott creates characters with baggage, past hurts, and vulnerabilities. They go through hell, find love, and, at the end, find peace in who they are and everything they’ve gone through. And isn’t that what everyone wants?

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.