Eighth Grave After Dark: Charley Davidson #8 by Darynda Jones

Eighth Grave After Dark: Charley Davidson #8 by Darynda Jones

The eighth book in the Charley Davidson series from Darynda Jones is on the blog today – and here we get some answers, many more questions and plenty of moments in

Eighth Grave After Dark

Beep has arrived! And in typical Charley fashion, all plans made for her arrival have been twisted, torn, tossed in the air and challenged – and you couldn’t want it any other way! Picking up eight months after Seventh Grave and No Body, Charley, Reyes and Osh have moved to an historic abandoned convent, on hallowed ground, to keep Charley and Beep safe from the hellhounds. While the early part of the book is relatively slow moving and without a ton of the frenetic action we’ve come to expect, the opportunity to breathe as the story unfolds will be a welcome, if not necessary one, in the grand scheme of things. With Charley having gone against Reyes’ wishes and hired her own PI to find his birth parents, Cookie and Ubie’s wedding – a perfect setting despite her step-monster Denise being omnipresent and desperate to ‘apologize’ for her mistreatment of Charley for her entire childhood, her father appearing to leave a warning, a departed nun appearing regularly and Charley’s FBI friend Kit asking for help with a missing teen, everything is pretty much normal, if quieter than the usual.

This won’t last long, however, as Charley notices Mr. Wong has relocated and is now in what they are using for a living room, the departed in her bedroom closet won’t speak – only wail, and there are increasing numbers of departed just standing about in the yard. And while the friction between Osh and Reyes is still there, they aren’t banging one another’s heads together, Reyes isn’t sleeping, and there are moments, frequent moments, when Reyes disappears and Charley can’t get him to explain who (or what) he is planning. With the countdown on Kit’s missing girl coming to a head, Cookie and Bob aren’t on their pre-honeymoon honeymoon but working instead, the people interested in, or a threat to Beep and Charley seem to be increasing exponentially. And then, when following Reyes, and the departed nun, things go left in spectacular, Charley-trademark fashion as a well, two bodies and Beep’s arrival all converge. Not expecting that Denise would step up and help Charley through labor, save Beep from strangulation and bring us to the point of meeting the child destined to be the downfall of Lucifer – just eighteen hours of stasis later and Charley is back to her old tricks, now with Beep in tow. Introducing her to her father, the door that won’t open revealing its secrets, a quick jump through hell to bring forth answers about a missing girl, a threat to Cookie and Amber, the return of the MC club and a showdown between Reyes and Charley that was overshadowed by a big bad – one determined to end Beep and give Charley nightmares about Denise for as long as she lives.

Strangely enough, it is Mr. Wong and the hellhounds, along with Osh and his knowledge of her name, her true name, that provides all the difference in this final battle (for this book) and sending Reyes into a tailspin as everyone has no idea just what, or where, Charley will turn next with the new information. Unfortunately, the battles for supremacy aren’t yet over with, and Beep is still threatened and must be protected, but the choices are truly heart wrenching, only the secret that Charley has held for weeks against the wishes of Reyes, could be the only answer. And when a previously departed returns and seems to be involved at the core of the battle, the story takes a twist that is utterly unexpected, and the addition of Reyes’ perspective as a sort of “epilogue’ has the benefit of giving us a few more steps along the path to the conclusion.


Eighth Grave After Dark: Charley Davidson #8 by Darynda Jones

Title: Eighth Grave After Dark
Author: Darynda Jones
Series: Charley Davidson #8
Also in this series: First Grave on the Right, Second Grave on the Left, Third Grave Dead Ahead, Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, Fifth Grave Past the Light, Sixth Grave on the Edge
Genre: Contemporary Paranormal Mystery, Ghosts, Humor elements, Murder, Mystery Elements, Paranormal, Romantic Elements, Suspense Elements
Published by: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 1250045681
Published on: 6 October, 2015
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 320
Audio Length: 9 Hours: 0 minutes
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour IndieBound Book Depository GoogleAudible
See this Title on Goodreads

With twelve hellhounds after her, pregnant Charley Davidson takes refuge at the only place she thinks they can’t get to her: the grounds of an abandoned convent. But after months of being cooped up there, Charley is ready to pop. Both metaphorically and literally since she is now roughly the size of a beached whale. Fortunately, a new case has captured her attention, one that involves a murder on the very grounds the team has taken shelter upon. A decades-old murder of the newly-vowed nun she keeps seeing in the shadows is almost enough to pull her out of her doldrums.

Charley’s been forbidden to step foot off the sacred grounds. While the angry hellhounds can’t traverse the consecrated soil, they can lurk just beyond its borders. They have the entire team on edge, especially Reyes. And if Charley didn’t know better, she would swear Reyes is getting sick. He grows hotter with every moment that passes, his heat scorching across her skin every time he’s near, but naturally he swears he’s fine.

While the team searches for clues on the Twelve, Charley just wants answers and is powerless to get them. But the mass of friends they’ve accrued helps. They convince her even more that everyone in her recent life has somehow been drawn to her, as though they were a part of a bigger picture all along. But the good feelings don’t last for long because Charley is about to get the surprise of her crazy, mixed-up, supernatural life….

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.


About Darynda Jones

Darynda Jones is the winner of the 2009 Golden Heart® for Best Paranormal Novel for her manuscript First Grave on the Right. Darynda can't remember a time when she wasn't putting pen to paper. She lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband of more than twenty-five years and two beautiful sons, aka the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys.


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.