Navigate / search

Don’t Stop Me Now by Colleen Coleman

Don’t Stop Me Now by Colleen Coleman

Debut author Colleen Coleman is on the blog today with her lovely novel, a story replete with solid characters and wonderful twists. Please read on for my review of

Don’t Stop Me Now

Poppy has a plan: finish up her PhD in psychology, and take her rightful place at the university. Working long and hard, she’s achieved the best scores ever for her major, even outdoing the Dean. And, with her boyfriend being supportive and in her corner, and everything starting to fall into place after all the hard work and dreams. But, all of Poppy’s plans went horribly wrong – with one disaster after another: the position at the university didn’t come to her – but to her boyfriend, who not so casually has moved on to a relationship with her best friend … no money, no prospects, no plan B.

Fortunately, Poppy has family – a room at her Mum’s house is just as she left it, vampire theme and all. She’s discouraged and depressed, and needing to find a dirction, a job and her mojo. She’s not unwilling to try and reframe her life, she’s just not sure where to start exactly when she runs into her childhood friend and finds herself with a whole social life, a new boyfriend, although no real job. But, when asked to listen for a daily puzzle clue she is captivated by the HORRIBLE Agony Aunt at the station, and can’t stop herself from phoning in. Soon she and “Aunt Hilary” are at one another’s throats: with Poppy’s educated and softer advice based on her degree and kind heart versus the rather cold and cruel Hilary.

When the radio station is inundated with calls for Poppy, she starts on a new adventure as the Agony Aunt, using her degree, research and a genuine desire to help those who have made the effort to call, as well as a genuine quietly offered therapy to Benny to overcome his own insecurities: Poppy is like a breath of fresh air providing her own brand of confidence and cheerleading to those who need it most. Surprising even herself when her ow confidence is growing and her self-doubts are evaporating even as she didn’t set out to make her own new path. From living a life on a strictly ordered path with all of the answers “figured out”, she’ learned that sometimes the doors unexplored and unopened lead to where you need to be after all. A wonderful story of hope, friendship, second chances and never giving up, even if you are only wandering in search of a good cup of coffee.

Don’t Stop Me Now by Colleen Coleman

Title: Don't Stop Me Now
Author: Colleen Coleman
Genre: Contemporary Woman's Fiction
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 1786811472
Published on: 22 March, 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 302
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble Kobo IndieBound Book Depository Google

Goodreads


About the Book:

A hilarious feel good read about finding your feet when life pulls the rug out from under you.

Poppy Bloom has a Life Plan: PhD in psychology, research job at her university, and a life of domestic bliss with handsome boyfriend Gregory.

But then she finishes her PhD with no job offer, no relationship, and nowhere to live. Being unemployed and living back at her mum’s house in her vampire-themed childhood bedroom was definitely not the plan.

Poppy is back to square one and miserable, so when she runs into childhood friend Leanne she jumps at the opportunity to catch up. The chance to run into Leanne’s gorgeous brother Tom is just a bonus…

Soon Poppy’s scored an internship at a radio station, a boyfriend, and a whole netball team of friends: things are on the up.

But life has a way of tripping you up when you least expect it, and Poppy soon has to decide where her priorities lie… With new friends, a new career and a new romance, can Poppy keep everyone happy, or is everything about to tumble down around her?

A laugh-out-loud story about friendship, second chances, and new love, perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk, Marian Keyes and Jane Costello.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a comment

name*

email* (not published)

website

CommentLuv badge