Don’t Deny Me, Part One by Megan Hart

Don't Deny Me, Part One by Megan Hart

Welcome to my review for Don’t Deny Me, a novel in three parts, a new release from Megan Hart.

Book Review:

Despite a few reservations about releasing a novel in three parts, I’ve now read the entire book and each piece makes complete sense, and Megan Hart has created a compelling and engaging story that will pull at the heartstrings of every reader who wondered “what if”. 

Alice has been single for the past ten or so years, after her relationship with Mick ended rather spectacularly.  These two are part of a group of friends, and have managed to avoid seeing one another since their breakup, But, the ‘ringleaders’ of the group are celebrating their 20th anniversary, and want all their friends to share in the fun.

I loved the alternating point of view in this story, bringing in perspectives and information about their friends and their very public reuniting, as they both play with feelings of familiarity, comfort and attraction that never really left.  The characters are all very solidly real and well-developed, and even though the desire for a relationship isn’t necessarily there in the forefront, we do see from Alice and Mick that love, real love, is often the hardest connection to break.

Alice and Mick both have solid and definable voices that feel honest and real: love and attraction are confusing emotions, especially when there is a spark of hope for something more or different.  Alice is most certainly a touch passive aggressive with her “I won’t until he does’ stuff, and Mick – well – he just doesn’t. It’s not that he doesn’t think of saying something, but his own Y chromosome seems to blunt the thought – to – speech pathway.

Of course, this is the first of three parts, and exes are an ex for a reason. But this lead in to the story of Alice and Mick and their friends is a wonderful start.


Don’t Deny Me, Part One by Megan Hart

Title: Don't Deny Me Part One
Author: Megan Hart
Series: Don't Deny Me
Also in this series: Don't Deny Me, Part Two, Don't Deny Me, Part Three
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Published by: St. Martin's Press
Published on: January 13, 2015
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 96
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Downpour IndieBound
See this Title on Goodreads

He’s back, and the heat between them cannot be denied…

Part One of Don't Deny Me, the passionate new e-serial novel from bestselling author Megan Hart.

Alice and Mick had it all: the happy days, the heartfelt evenings, the hot, slow nights. But Mick couldn’t give her what she needed, and in a moment of crisis, they lost everything. Torn apart, Alice tries to pry him out of her life and move on—until a not-so-chance meeting at an old friend’s party brings them face-to-face once more. Now they’re talking again, Alice can’t escape the burning in her chest whenever he’s near, the way his eyes still follow her around the room…but she won’t repeat the mistakes of her past. Passion alone is nothing to build a life on. Or is it?

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

The full novel (all 3 parts) is releasing from St. Martin’s Press on 10  March 2015.  
A full 288 pages: you can pre-order the title now: 

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iTunesKobo 

About Megan Hart

Megan Hart is a New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of more than thirty novels, novellas and short stories. Her work has been published in almost every genre, including contemporary women’s fiction, historical romance, paranormal and erotica. Learn more at

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.