The Dirt on Ninth Grave: Charley Davidson #9 by Darynda Jones

The Dirt on Ninth Grave: Charley Davidson #9 by Darynda Jones

Darynda Jones returns with the ninth book in the Charley Davidson series, and this one hit all the emotional buttons for me, something I wasn’t expecting.

The Dirt on Ninth Grave

It’s getting harder to write reviews without big spoilers for this series, but if you’ve read the other books and are ready to pick up this one, or are looking for a series to immerse yourself in with hours of non-stop enjoyment, you’ll find a change in the tone and the emotions in this one – all for the better. I have to say that Cooke, Bob, Garret, Angel, Artemis, Osh and even Reyes had me choked up for most of the story, as in Sleepy Hollow, New York a woman arrived with no memories of who she was, and an uncanny ability to see dead people, auras, demons and to intuit emotions, including when someone is lying. But, with no name, no history and no real understanding of who she is or why she is in this little town, and that could be dangerous. For everyone. Even without knowing who she is or where she came from, the newly named Janey Dorr is still Charley in many respects: her coffee addiction, her humor, even her desire to help those obviously in distress.

The emotions in this story that had me reeling frequently were those from Cookie – she’s so BAD at lying, yet desperate to help Janey in any way she can – even explaining how she lost her best friend: Jones made her worry and grief palpable, and with Angel popping in and being his rather smart-aleck thirteen year old self (for the past decades), and the flirting from Osh, the ‘smoky’ presence of Reyes and his constant vigilance, and the slips from Ubie when he regularly calls her “pumpkin’, the grief and worry that just oozed from the pages from everyone in “Charley’s Crew” from before, as well as her new boss Dixie are all “in on the who”, and there are moments when you think she’s going to get it – only to see the sorrow in the eyes of those who know and love her best.

But, this is Charley at the core of it all, and of course she NEEDS to make the first moves in what could be incredibly dangerous situations herself, and discovering that a being with wings is trying to kill you, not to mention the psychotic cop who has become a threat, and a return visit from beings from the past who alternate between threat and bodyguard, and the story was just the piece we needed to start the climb to what will become the ultimate showdown in this battle of good versus evil – one that has been millennia in the making. Go now, grab ALL the books, and start with the first in the series….then get snacks, comfy blankies and a do not disturb sign. Start reading. You’ll be all ready to grab the latest installment in January 2018.

The Dirt on Ninth Grave: Charley Davidson #9 by Darynda Jones

Title: The Dirt on Ninth Grave
Author: Darynda Jones
Series: Charley Davidson #9
Also in this series: First Grave on the Right, Second Grave on the Left, Third Grave Dead Ahead, Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, Fifth Grave Past the Light, Sixth Grave on the Edge
Genre: 18+ Read, Contemporary Paranormal Mystery, Ghosts, Humor elements, Murder, Mystery Elements, Paranormal, Romantic Elements, Suspense Elements
Published by: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 1250074495
Published on: 31 May, 2016
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 384
Audio Length: 10 Hours: 11 minutes
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour IndieBound Book Depository GoogleAudible
See this Title on Goodreads

In a small village in New York lives Jane Doe, a girl with no memory of who she is or where she came from. So when she is working at a diner and slowly begins to realize she can see dead people, she's more than a little taken aback. Stranger still are the people entering her life. They seem to know things about her. Things they hide with lies and half-truths. Soon, she senses something far darker. A force that wants to cause her harm, she is sure of it. Her saving grace comes in the form of a new friend she feels she can confide in and the fry cook, a devastatingly handsome man whose smile is breathtaking and touch is scalding. He stays close, and she almost feels safe with him around.

But no one can outrun their past, and the more lies that swirl around her—even from her new and trusted friends—the more disoriented she becomes, until she is confronted by a man who claims to have been sent to kill her. Sent by the darkest force in the universe. A force that absolutely will not stop until she is dead. Thankfully, she has a Rottweiler. But that doesn't help in her quest to find her identity and recover what she's lost. That will take all her courage and a touch of the power she feels flowing like electricity through her veins. She almost feels sorry for him. The devil in blue jeans. The disarming fry cook who lies with every breath he takes. She will get to the bottom of what he knows if it kills her. Or him. Either way.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Darynda Jones

Darynda Jones is the winner of the 2009 Golden Heart® for Best Paranormal Novel for her manuscript First Grave on the Right. Darynda can't remember a time when she wasn't putting pen to paper. She lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband of more than twenty-five years and two beautiful sons, aka the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.