A Cosy Candlelit Christmas: An Unforgettable Christmas #2 by Tilly Tennant

A Cosy Candlelit Christmas: An Unforgettable Christmas #2 by Tilly Tennant

Tilly Tennant returns to the blog today with the second title in her holiday duology, and we get Isla’s story in this one.  Please read on for my review of

A Cosy Candlelit Christmas

First meeting Isla in A Very Vintage Christmas, she was intriguing as Dodie’s best friend and student, still living with her mother and fluffing off ideas of love and relationships. After her parents split when she was young, she and her mother struggled and after years of hearing how unwanted they were by her father, a solicitor’s leter presents her with options.

A tiny village tucked in the French Alps, not far from Mont Blanc become the centerpiece and decoration for the story. A tiny alpine town that caters to tourists while still providing a community for residents, a small guesthouse with an American ex-pat as owner, bartender, agony aunt and general friendly face in the midst of strangeness become a touchstone for Isla in very new and trying circumstances. A will from a grandmother she hardly remembered leaves her with two choices: accept a small house in the village and find a relationship with her father or refuse the bequest and her father and his new family lose a house in Scotland and a small monetary bequest.

A week isn’t a ton of time to sort out something this extensive: from her mother’s disappointment and fear over losing her to her own anger from her father’s abandonment, the cautious if not overtly rude reception from her half-brother and the expansive and overly pushy romancing from her step-mother’s nephew, not to mention Isla’s own stress and inability to want to deal with more emotional issues – there’s a ton here to sort. And, Tennant does it wonderfully, from presenting Seb as the geeky, bow-tie wearing nice guy who brings a sense of security and stability with him to the glorious views, a massive blizzard and midnight services in the local church, the magic of this little corner of France gives Isla the opportunity to truly find her own center and let go of resentments, changing her path and taking a chance on something more. With revelations, secrets and even some heartfelt conversations, the story is a wonderful escape into the holiday, and a perfect ‘whatever happened to ___” answer to questions arising from the first book.

A Cosy Candlelit Christmas: An Unforgettable Christmas #2 by Tilly Tennant

Title: A Cosy Candlelit Christmas
Author: Tilly Tennant
Series: An Unforgettable Christmas #2
Also in this series: A Very Vintage Christmas
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Holiday Themed, Setting: France
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 1786812177
Published on: 24 October, 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 304
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo IndieBound Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

All Isla wants for Christmas is to be left in peace, but in the Alps there’s potential for romance in every snowflake that falls…

It’s the week before Christmas and Isla McCoy has just received an unexpected gift: a letter announcing she is due a life-changing inheritance, but only if she’s willing to make peace with the father who abandoned her.

She has absolutely no intention of making amends, but who could resist an all-expenses-paid trip to the French resort of St Martin-de-Belleville?

There she meets smooth-talking Justin and nerdy glaciologist Sebastian; two very different men, with two very different agendas. Torn between her head and her heart, Isla finds herself utterly lost in a winter wonderland of her own feelings.

Surrounded by twinkling candles and roaring log-fires, Isla’s resolve finally begins to melt. But will she learn how to reconnect, not only with a whole new family, but with herself and her heart?

A gorgeously heart-warming festive read to help spark a little romance in those long winter nights. Perfect for fans of Jane Linfoot, Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan.

See An Unforgettable Christmas series on Goodreads

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Tilly Tennant

Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing, graduating in 2009 with first class honours. She wrote her first novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books before the rest of the world gets them.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge