Navigate / search

The Cornish Escape by Lily Graham

The Cornish Escape by Lily Graham

Lily Graham makes her first appearance on the blog today with her latest release – a wonderful dual-timeline story that carries a touch of romance, a dash of mystery and is lush with descriptions of Cornwall as our heroine is on

The Cornish Escape

Victoria is having a really bad day: her husband is having an affair with a younger woman, and she just needs to get away. Dashing off to Tregollan, a seaside village in Cornwall, where she hopes the isolation, sea air and gorgeous views will help her to heal and decide on her next move. I could instantly relate to Victoria’s running for the coast – it’s a wonderful place to think and regroup, but on one of her many wanders around the area she comes upon a run-down cottage. Even more surprising is the older man who dashes off, leaving behind a book – and within the pages Victoria finds a mystery, and a project.

Seafall Cottage is run down, rather spooky, and the locals claim it is haunted. As Victoria engages the help of Adam, the local solicitor, she is able to purchase the cottage and start to discover the secrets hidden within. But even in the purchase there are secrets, as Adam and his family own the little building, and he’s also curious about what is contained within. The little book that Victoria retrieved from the old man contains a diary from 1905 – it is the story of Tilly – and while it is written in a sort of code, Victoria needs to know her story.

Travelling along a dual timeline, bits of Tilly’s story are revealed as Victoria sets about to rehab the cottage and find her own place in the village. A tale of star-crossed lovers and a touch of mystery brought out from the diary help to provide an intricate tapestry, while much has changed in the intervening years, some things are still recognizable from the descriptions in the diary – and Victoria is paying a sort of homage to the past as she works through to find her own present. With wonderful secondary characters (Angie with the bookshop on a houseboat, an aging hippie who is prone to offer “suspicious brownies” was a particular favorite), plenty of clues to help suss out the mystery and a touch of romantic connection for Victoria, the story was wonderfully plotted and planned. Sure to provide you with an escape of your own, I couldn’t put this one down, and am anxious to read more from this author.

The Cornish Escape by Lily Graham

Title: The Cornish Escape
Author: Lily Graham
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Dual Timeline, Historic Elements, Setting: Britain
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 1786811537
Published on: 6 April, 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 314
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo IndieBound Book Depository Google

Goodreads


About the Book:

Get swept away along the beautiful Cornish coast with two love stories, centuries apart in time but entwined at their hearts.

Victoria Langley’s world crumbles when her husband leaves, but she knows exactly where to go to mend her broken heart. The rugged shores of Cornwall will be her perfect sanctuary.

In the quaint, little village of Tregollan, nestled in the sea cliffs, Victoria is drawn to Seafall Cottage, covered in vines and gracefully falling apart. Inside she finds a diary full of secrets, from 1905.

Victoria is determined to unravel the diary’s mystery, but the residents of Tregollan are tight-lipped about Tilly Asprey, the cottage’s last owner. Just as she reaches a dead end, Victoria meets Adam Waters, the lawyer handling the cottage’s sale. He’s handsome, charming, and has a missing piece of the puzzle.

Tilly’s diary tells a devastating love story that mirrors Victoria’s own. Can Victoria learn from Tilly’s mistakes, and give herself a second chance at love? Or is history doomed to repeat itself?

An unputdownable and gorgeously romantic read about lost love and new beginnings set in the green hills and rocky cliffs of the breath-taking Cornish coast. Perfect for fans of Phillipa Ashley, Emma Burstall and Liz Fenwick.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a comment

name*

email* (not published)

website

CommentLuv badge